ENG 175: The Nature of Language: Research Article Databases

The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations. Coverage extends from 1973 to the present.

Indexes published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics

The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles, and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains more than 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals and 1,000 book publishers.

Articles from scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. NOTE: In many cases, articles from the last 3-5 years are NOT available due to publisher copyright restrictions.

A database of humanities and social science content. Offers complete, full-text versions of more than 700 scholarly journals from many of the world's leading universities and scholarly societies and more than 60,000 books from more than 100 publishers.

The OED is widely regarded as the most significant dictionary of the English language, offering the meaning, history, and pronunciation of more than 600,000 words —past and present— from across the English-speaking world.