Research Guides: MUS 715 Rock 'n' Roll Seminar: Find Books

Subject Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Park Library 218

989-774-3835

Subjects: Art, Communication, Fashion Merchandising & Design, Interior Design, Journalism, Media Arts, Music

African American Music Reference This link opens in a new window
Showcases all facets of African American music, including folk, religious, concert, and popular styles of today. Illuminates the profound role that African American music has plays in American cultural history.

Click on Browse - Genres to see a list of related genres including rock, hip-hop, jazz, contemporary, and more.

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Popular Musicians Since 1990
An A-Z biographical reference that focuses on individual artists and groups in all popular styles active from 1990 to the present, including those in rock, rhythm and blues, rap, country, electronica, jazz, vocal and classical. Features include select discographies, bibliographies, a glossary of musical terms, and other information. Also features appendix essays on various topics including the music industry, rap, and grunge.

Music Online Garland Encyclopedia of World Music This link opens in a new window
The first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music.

Click on Browse - Genres to see a list of related genres including rock, hip-hop/rap, jazz, and more.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Entries and essays from specialist dictionaries such as Grove Music Online, the Oxford Companion to Music, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Encyclopedia of Popular Music.

Encyclopedia of Popular Music
Colin Larkin provides information on a range of popular music genre from 1900s onwards; including rock, pop, jazz, folk blues, heavy metal, techno, R&B, reggae, and hip-hop. This biographical encyclopedia contains a name index, an index of song titles, and bibliographies by artist and subject.