Research Guides: REL 397B: Rock 'n' Roll and Spirituality: Find Articles

Subject Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

214 Park Library

(989) 774 6427

Subjects: Biographies, Children's Literature, English Language & Literature, Philosophy, Religion, Theatre & Dance, Women and Gender Studies

Finding Religion-Related Articles

There are many direct and indirect online resources relating to the study of Religion. This list of resources, while by no means exhaustive, provides a basic starting point for research on the multiple aspects of the World's religions. It is important to remember that when searching for reviews of particular book titles, all of the databases listed will allow searching exclusively for book reviews. Also, when searching for a particular title, make sure that you type the title within "quotation marks," which sets the search up as a phrase search.

ATLA Religion Database (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
"Contains thousands of citations from international titles and multi-author works in the field of religion. Includes a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from three ATLA print indexes: Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR)."
Religion Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides a wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. As well as scholarly journals there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Electronic version of International Index to Periodicals (1907-1955), International Index (1955-1965), Social Sciences and Humanities Index (1965-1974), and Humanities Index (1974-1996). This database should be used in conjunction with Humanities Abstracts in FirstSearch.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers non-North American history from 1450 to the present. In regard to medieval history, this database is useful only for the late medieval period.
America: History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
"The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history."
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access of more than 200 history and history-related journals. Remember that in many cases the latest 3-5 years' worth of issues are NOT included due to publisher restrictions.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
"Project MUSE covers the full text of over 200 journals in literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and others. To find book reviews, choose Advanced Search and use the pulldown menu under Limit Search and By Type to select Review. Advanced search page also has a list of journals and years available."

Find Music-Related Articles

These music databases should provide you with articles, dissertations, etc., dealing with aspects of religion and spirituality as they pertain to rock 'n' roll music.

Music Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MIO indexes more than 775 international music periodicals from 1970-present linking to J-Stor for full text when available. Topics cover every aspect of classical and popular music, including all styles and genres of music. CMU has the first print issue, 1949, to 2006 in print on the 2nd floor, near the checkout desk.

Finding Newspaper Articles

New York Times, 1851-2020 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
"The New York Times (1851-2010) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. This database offers full-text and full-image articles and deal not only with news, but also includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, as well as historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements."

NewsVault
"NewsVault delivers the definitive cross-searching experience for exploring the CMU Libraries collection of Gale historical newspapers. With the power to search over 10 million digitized facsimile pages, Gale NewsVault provides an unparalleled window to the past."

Find a Specific Article or Journal

Locate and Retrieve Articles

From a Database:

Look for the red and gold FIND IT @ CMU button in the record for the article you are interested in.

This will allow you to request the article through Documents on Demand if the full-text is not currently available.