HST 201: World History to 1500: Web Resources

Part of Yale Law Library's Avalon Project, the website includes searchable, transcribed documents,4000 BCE-21st century.

an award-winning portal that contains annotated links to over 1200 history web sites as well as links to hundreds of quality K-12 history resources. Includes Ancient/Biblical, America, European, Military, Oral and Art History.

A collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly for education use. Primary sources are available here primarily for use in high-school and university/college courses. the site took a very broad view of the sources that should be available to students and as well as documents long associated with a "western civilization" approach to history also provides much information on Byzantine, Islamic, Jewish, Indian, East Asian, and African history. You will also find many documents especially relevant to women's history and LGBT studies. the various Index pages are the key to the best use of this site. You can access the major divisions of the site from the subject indexes at the top of each page. Within each major division the left of each page directs you to more focused indexes. Any given document may be listed in several indexes. The site includes Travelers' Accounts, Historical Studies Websites, Comprehensive Bibliographies, and Course Web Sties.

"The Internet Archive is a non-profit informational entity that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format."

This extensive database website explores the role of Christian women in the religion and society of medieval Europe. Its content includes profiles of women’s religious communities in medieval Europe; dozens of primary source texts; brief biographies of religious women; hundreds of images of architecture, sculpture, and book illumination and other objects. It also features a glossary and a listing of secondary sources.