Teaching English Learners (TEL): Relevant Databases

The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles, and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains more than 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals and 1,000 book publishers.

A database of humanities and social science content. Offers complete, full-text versions of more than 700 scholarly journals from many of the world's leading universities and scholarly societies and more than 60,000 books from more than 100 publishers.

A source of fascinating and entertaining facts about the writers, artists, film directors, graphic novelists, and other creative personalities.

Facts and pictures about contemporary authors and illustrators of books for young people.

Biographical information and critical essays on novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, and others. Includes the contents of Children’s Literature Review (CLR), Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800 (LC), Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism (NCLC), and Twentieth Century Literary Criticism (TCLC).

A database of full-text articles on critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. Each entry includes a selective bibliography.

Articles from scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. NOTE: In many cases, articles from the last 3-5 years are NOT available due to publisher copyright restrictions.

The OED is widely regarded as the most significant dictionary of the English language, offering the meaning, history, and pronunciation of more than 600,000 words —past and present— from across the English-speaking world.