Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The information and links on these pages will help you successfully write and edit your paper once you have completed the necessary research. Use the tabs above to move to the section of this guide appropriate to your needs. If you need further assistance, please contact a librarian.
Find An Article
AGI Glossary of Geology This link opens in a new window
The online Glossary provides access to the more than 39,000 glossary entries contained in the Fifth Edition of the print Glossary. In addition to the 13,000 updated entries that appeared in the Fifth Edition, more than 1,100 changes, deletions and additions have been made to the online version since the publication of the print edition -- making the online Glossary even more up-to-date.
AGRICOLA (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
From the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, this source provides access to journal articles, book chapters, theses, and more on agricultural topics.
Alt-PressWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses.
Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Offers the latest information on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care, wellness, and alternative therapies.
America: History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present
Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
Provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized American newspaper pages covering the years 1836-1922.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Full text access to selected medical texts, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials.
Unlimited user access to all titles.
Congressional Hearings This link opens in a new window
A hearing is a meeting or session of a Senate, House, joint, or special committee of Congress, usually open to the public, to obtain information and opinions on proposed legislation, conduct an investigation, or evaluate/oversee the activities of a government department or the implementation of a Federal law. In addition, hearings may also be purely exploratory in nature, providing testimony and data about topics of current interest. Most congressional hearings are published two months to two years after they are held.
Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides general consumer-oriented health information on a variety of topics, including alternatives medicines.
Environment Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This leading full-text database offers extensive coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. Offering full text and indexing for journals, books and monographs, it is an invaluable resource for students and scholars across all environmental disciplines.
Films on Demand (Full Collection) This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos from Films for the Humanities and Sciences, ABC News, NBC News, BBC, National Geographic, The NewsHour with Jim Lehrer, Bill Moyers, Shopware, The Open University, A&E, Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center, Fred Friendly Seminars, Cambridge Education, and many more.
GEOBASE This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database of indexed research literature on the earth sciences, including geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation.
GEOREF This link opens in a new window
The latest information on earth sciences, ecology, geology, human and physical geography, and environmental sciences.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present
History Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covering both U.S. and world history topics, History Reference Center is a full-text database featuring historical reference books, magazines, journals and thousands of primary source documents.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Humanities Source is a valuable full-text database covering literary, scholarly and creative thought. It provides full text, indexing and abstracts for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. NOTE: In many cases, articles from the last 3-5 years are NOT available due to publisher copyright restrictions.
New York Times Online, 1851- present This link opens in a new window
Find breaking news, multimedia, reviews & opinion on Washington, business, sports, movies, travel, books, jobs, education, real estate and more.
ATTENTION: First time users must create an account using the authenticated link provided here. NYT prefers that you use your cmich.edu email address, if possible.
Current users may use this link: https://nytimes.com
Passes expire after 364 days, users will need to go to http://accessnyt.com and type in Central Michigan University and follow the instructions to get another 364 day pass for access.
Using your registered e-mail address, you should be able to login.
PubMed Central (PMC) This link opens in a new window
PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Science Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Designed to meet every student researcher's needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias, reference books and a vast collection of images.
Statistics Sources This link opens in a new window
Provides a wide range of print and non-print, published and unpublished, and electronic and other forms of U.S. and international statistical data on demographic, business, social, educational, financial, and other topics.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The premier research platform to find and analyze scholarly research literature on Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities. Includes proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
Find a Specific Article or Journal