Research Guides: Resources for Grants / Publishing / Research Impact: Publishing

Where to Publish?

The following are additional resources for you to search for suitable venues for your publishing needs.

Cabell's Scholarly Analytics is the Libraries' subscription for journal information and evaluation metrics. It includes Journalytics, a listing of 11,000 credible journals across 18 academic disciplines, and Predatory Reports, a compilation of questionable and/or predatory publications.

JANE - Journal/Author Name Estimator Jane (Journal/Author Name Estimator) is a freely available web-based application that, on the basis of a sample text (e.g. the title and abstract of a manuscript), can suggest journals and experts who have published similar articles. FAQ

Journal Seek is a large database of freely available journal information available on the internet.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory The Directory shows whether a journal is "refereed" and where it is indexed.

Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE) publicationethics.org

Think. Check. Submit ... .org

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 18% of which comes from sponsors and 82% from supporters and publisher supporters. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available.

Principles of Transparency and Best Practice in Scholarly Publishing
These Principles of Transparency and Best Practice in Scholarly Publishing by COPE, DOAJ, OASPA and WAME.

PubMed PubReMiner (only works in PubMed, but can identify experts, research interests, and journals to publish in)

These lists do not necessarily represent the opinion of CMU librarians; they are merely information that may be useful to authors looking for a journal to publish in.

Cabell's Predatory Reports A list of journals under review for Predatory Reports
- Criteria of Predatory Reports Violations
- An article about lists of predatory publishers
- A Review of the Predatory Reports
- Beyond Beall’s List: Better understanding predatory publishers
- Leonhard Dobusch and Maximilian Heimstadt. (2019). Predatory publishing in management research: A call for open peer review. Management Learning 50(5): 607-619.

LIST OF PUBLISHERS Potential, possible, or probable predatory scholarly open-access journals
Understanding Predatory Publishers
- Identifying a predator

The CMU Libraries has signed transformative agreements with the journal publishers. Under these agreements, the article processing charges (APCs) normally associated with publishing an article in these publishers’ journals are waived. There is no cost to CMU authors upon either submission or publication, and the resulting article will be published in an open format. Meaning as soon as it is published, the article will be fully available worldwide for researchers and students to read, cite, and share. ... Read more