Environmental Studies: Web Resources

​The Institute for Great Lakes Research (IGLR) takes a multidisciplinary approach to understanding the complex environmental issues affecting the Great Lakes basin. This area includes associated ecosystems such as tributaries, wetlands, and coastal regions, as well as the lakes themselves. The IGLR is committed to promoting and facilitating collaborative research and education on the Great Lakes. We partner with other institutions and agencies to leverage our expertise and training. IGLR faculty members are nationally and internationally recognized experts on coastal wetlands, conservation genetics, fisheries, invasive species, limnology, aquatic population modeling, microbial ecology, landscape ecology, and geographic information sciences. External agencies supporting research include the Environmental Protection Agency, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, the Michigan Department of Natural Resources and Environment, and the Sea Grant.​​

Includes case studies, newsletters and a blog.

From the Collaborative on Health and the Environment, a database summarizing links between chemical contaminants and human diseases.

WRI is a global nonprofit organization that works with leaders in government, business and civil society to research, design, and carry out practical solutions that simultaneously improve people’s lives and ensure nature can thrive

From the National Library of Medicine.

Suports the evolution of sustainable settlements across the word. Includes a Resource Directory.

From the University of Michgan - includes multimedia.

Includes environmental news and videos.

US government laboratory conducting R&D on renewable energy and energy efficient technologies. Includes a collection of photos that can be freely used as well as a section of student resources.

Funded by the USDA Rural Business-Cooperative Service. Includes publications, videos and audio archives from
the Sustainable Agriculture Radio show.

Includes information on sustainable communities, sustainable water; and air, climate and energy.

Features news, information on LEED standards and green education resources including a higher education newsletter.

Video on topics including biodiversity, climate change, ecosystems and invasive plants.