Research Guides: MGT 499: Strategic Management: Company Financials, Competitors &amp; Rankings

Company Financial Data

PUBLIC

EDGAR
Publicly-held companies are required to file financial information with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. The SEC's EDGAR database provides public access to all required filings, including the 10-K Report.

MergentOnline This link opens in a new window
Covers 10,000 national and international public companies. Includes business profiles, stock & bond information, financial statements, annual reports, SEC filings, competitors and executive/officer information

PRIVATE/NONPROFIT

PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Provides business, financial and revenue data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. Contains information on private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, VC funding, and private equity deal history.

ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer
Use this database to search over 1.8 million tax returns from tax-exempt organizations and see financial details such as their executive compensation and revenue and expenses. You can browse raw IRS data released since 2013 and access over 8.3 million tax filing documents going back as far as 2001.

GuideStar This link opens in a new window
Includes information on all tax-exempt nonprofits registered with the IRS. There are more than 1.8 million organizations in the database including more than 1 million public charities, approximately 141,000 private foundations, and more than half a million other exempt organizations.

If your company is public, find its stock value as of today's date.

Company List (NASDAQ, NYSE, & AMEX)
Search for information about exchange-listed companies.
Yahoo! Finance
At Yahoo! Finance, you get free stock quotes, up to date news, portfolio management resources, international market data, message boards, and mortgage rates.
Market Watch
The Wall Street Journal

The following have company profiles with quick links to competitor lists.

MergentOnline This link opens in a new window
Covers 10,000 national and international public companies. Includes business profiles, stock & bond information, financial statements, annual reports, SEC filings, competitors and executive/officer information
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Provides business, financial and revenue data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. Contains information on private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, VC funding, and private equity deal history.
Nexis Dossier (Formerly: Corporate Affiliations) This link opens in a new window
Dossier allows you full access to Financial Overviews of over 240M companies, worldwide.

Directory Library (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A collection of industry and organizational directories. Includes: Gale directory of publications and broadcast media, Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S., Research centers directory and Statistics Sources.

Fortune 500
Top ranked public companies
Forbes Global High Performers
List of global high-performing public companies over the last 5 years.
The IndustryWeek US 500
IndustryWeek's exclusive annual ranking of America's largest public manufacturers, based on revenue.