REL/WGS 303: Goddesses (Dr. Zwissler): Internet Resources: General

An online full-text journal of religion and public affairs. "Religion Dispatches is a daily online magazine dedicated to the analysis and understanding of religious forces in the world today,highlighting a diversity of progressive voices and aimed at broadening and advancing the public conversation."

"The Mesopotamian literary corpus is one of the oldest literatures in the world. It is infused with the divine, because religion played a crucial part in the way Mesopotamians expressed their thoughts about human life. Mesopotamian religion was polytheistic, with a pantheon consisting of hundreds if not thousands of gods of varying importance. This website offers information about the fifty most important gods and goddesses and provides starting points for further research."

"The Internet Archive is a non-profit informational entity that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format."

HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.

The Perseus Project at Tufts University is the foremost Digital Library for the classical world, if not for the Humanities in general. In its collection of Greek and Roman materials, readers will find many of the canonical texts read today. The Greek collection approaches 8 million words and the Latin collection currently has 5.5 million. In addition, many English language dictionaries, other reference works, translations, and commentaries are included, so that anyone with an internet connection has access to the equivalent of a respectable College Classics library. The Perseus site is further enriched by intricate linking mechanisms among texts (resulting in more than 30 million links).

The Religious Institute is a multi-faith organization dedicated to advocating for sexual health, education, and justice in faith communities and society. More than 6,400 clergy, seminary presidents and deans, religious scholars and other religious leaders representing more than 70 faith traditions are part of the Religious Institute’s national network.

This is the official web site of the American Academy of Religion, a professional association of teachers and research scholars, dedicated to furthering knowledge of religion and religious institutions in all their forms and manifestations. Includes useful tools such as course syllabi, online articles, and various teaching resources.

This site is designed to advance research in matters of religion. It analyzes & highlights important content of religion-related web sites to speed research. Hyperlinks are provided not only to homepages but to major directories & documents within.