HST 111WI: Quest for Liberty-Survey in American History to 1865: Web Resources

"A list of 100 milestone documents, compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration, and drawn primarily from its nationwide holdings. The documents chronicle United States history from 1776 to 1965."

A chronological collection of primary documents pertaining directly to American history and foreign policy. Please note that this site is not regularly updated and some of the links do not function.

"The 47 treaties, speeches, historical accounts and governmental documents in this collection trace the United States from the settling of the continent to the founding of the country to the Civil War and early twentieth-century international relations."

"American Journeys contains more than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in AD1000 to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later."

"American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity."

" comprises 253 published narratives by Americans and foreign visitors recounting their travels in the colonies and the United States and their observations and opinions about American peoples, places, and society from about 1750 to 1920."

"The Printed Ephemera collection at the Library of Congress is a rich repository of Americana. In total, the collection comprises 28,000 primary-source items dating from the seventeenth century to the present and encompasses key events and eras in American history."

The Avalon Project, via the Yale Law Library, includes digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.

"This digital collection, supported by the College of Education at the University of Houston, includes primary and secondary sources on a wide variety of topics concerning American history and culture. The collection is especially strong in its coverage of racial and ethnic minorities and other underrepresented groups within the United States. Sources include textbooks, newspapers, legal records, multimedia files, and teaching tools."

"Digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs."

"Courtesy of Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities. Collection of electronic texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820."

Provides access to primary sources available from these two libraries, covering the settlement of North America by the French, as well as other historical events involving France in the U.S. (from Library of Congress & the Bibliotheque Nationale de France).

A crowd-sourced db of ads reporting runaways from multiple newspapers.

This site serves as a gateway to web resources and offers unique teaching materials, first-person primary documents, and guides to analyzing historical evidence. Emphasis is on materials that focus on the lives of ordinary Americans, many of which deal with the Colonial Period.

"The Internet Archive is a non-profit informational entity that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format."

Materials accessible in this large collection are Cornell University Library's contributions to Making of America (MOA), a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Provides full-text access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

A World-wide resource that covers over two centuries, with links to digitized copies of the original texts for the older publications (where available, Google links to the newspapers' own online archives).

The archival search engine of the National Archives that provides online full-text access to important documents dealing with American history and foreign policy.

Created by Tom Daccord for students, history educators, and general history enthusiasts. A good and fairly comprehensive listing of major history websites. This section of the website deals with various aspects of American History.

The Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System (CWSS) is a database containing information about the men who served in the Union and Confederate armies during the Civil War. Other information on the site includes histories of Union and Confederate regiments, links to descriptions of significant battles, and selected lists of prisoner-of-war records and cemetery records, which will be amended over time. The CWSS is a cooperative effort between the National Park Service and several public and private partners whose goal is to increase Americans' understanding of this decisive era in American history by making information about it widely accessible.

"FamilySearch, sponsored by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints in Salt Lake City, Utah, is the largest genealogy organization in the world. Millions of people use FamilySearch records, resources, and services to learn more about their family history. For over 100 years, the Mormon church has been actively gathering, preserving, and sharing genealogical records worldwide. This service is open to all."

"The ACPL Genealogy Center, located in downtown Fort Wayne, Indiana, is a unique and valuable resource for the Northeastern Indiana community and the entire genealogical community at large. This unique collection is one of the largest research collections available in the United States, incorporating records from around the world. The Genealogy Center is active in several initiatives to make significant public domain portions of its collection available online."

A massive categorized and cross-referenced index to genealogical resources on the Internet, containing nearly 300,000 links in 180 categories.