Grant Writing 101 by Victoria M. JohnsonA Crash Course in Writing Powerful, Persuasive Grants! "Grant Writing 101 provides straightforward and effective strategies for improving results. It is a wonderful reference guide for experienced fundraisers and an invaluable 'how-to' manual for those starting their careers." --Emmett D. Carson, Ph.D., CEO and President, Silicon Valley Community Foundation "This new book is an essential tool in helping nonprofits manage grant writing by keeping it simple, easy, and enjoyable!" --Barb Larson, CEO, American Red Cross, Silicon Valley Grant Writing 101 offers quick and easy tactics for getting the funding you need--right now! Written to enable beginners with little or no experience to hit the ground running, it covers: Ten tactics for writing a compelling proposal Tips for finding the best grantor for your needs Important components of various types of grants Next steps for when you're approved Includes samples of grant proposals and budget presentations!
Publication Date: 2011
Handbook for Writing Proposals by Robert J. Hamper; L. Sue BaughProven techniques and invaluable advice for writing winning business proposals--revised and updated! What makes a winning business proposal? It highlights your skills and services, meets your client's needs, and clearly sets you apart from the competition. Since 1995, Handbook for Writing Proposals has helped thousands of professionals develop winning proposals. This exceptional handbook guides you through the unique nine-step proposal-writing process from the initial RFP to the client presentation. In this revised and updated version, the authors show you how to: Choose the RFPs that give you the best chance of success Showcase your company's skills and services Set realistic time/cost schedules and budgets Avoid the mistakes that sink most proposals Build client relationships that bring you repeat business Tailor your writing for an international business audience The second edition also offers you a wealth of downloadable forms and checklists that you can adapt for your own proposal-writing process. Whether you own your own business, need to train your corporate staff, or simply want to improve your skills, Handbook for Writing Proposals, second edition will show you how to profit from every proposal you write. Praise This book guides you through the process of creating the best impression of your sweat equity to your customer. Whether you need to polish up and improve every aspect of the proposal or just certain elements, this book will fill the need. Remember, the economics of gain only occur when a customer feels you've fulfilled a need and created value. Paul V. Baron, President, In-Store Bakery Division, The Quarter Oats Company Handbook for Writing Proposals offers a wealth of down-to-earth, practical guidance on all phases of proposal writing. The book is well organized and full of concrete ideas that are easy to include in real-life situations. The sample letters, checklists, budgets, and proposals are extremely valuable. This book is a great resource for anyone whose success depends on convincing others through the proposal process. Richard M. Sawdey, Former Vice President and Secretary, R. R. Donnelley & Sons Company
Publication Date: 2010
How to Write Successful Fundraising Appeals by Mal WarwickAt its heart this classic book is about how the process of fundraising is a process of one-to-one relationship building. The book helps nonprofit staff responsible for writing fundraising appeals, write them well and drastically increase the odds that every appeal, regardless of type, intended audience or medium, produces the desired result. In addition to Mal's accessible, conversational style, one of the book's primary strengths is its numerous examples, techniques and approaches based on his three decades of experience. These tools guide readers step-by-step, appeal by appeal, through a process that for many can be painstaking. Every chapter will be updated to reflect current knowledge about direct response communication and many of the examples will be replaced with new ones. The new chapter on social media will help readers understand where the technology "fits" into the organization's overall fundraising strategy and how to evaluate and use the available tools (e.g. Twitter, FB, mobile) effectively. Through the use of current data, and new examples, the chapter will also clarify the differences between writing traditional direct response appeals and writing for social media and how, in either case, to write effectively. The chapter on Writing Online Appeals will be updated in line with current research (e.g. online vs offline behavior, online giving stats, demographics, best practices for integration with traditional approaches) and will feature new examples of successful and unsuccessful online appeals. Emergent fundraising technologies (Blackbaud, NW For Good, Razoo, etc.) will also be covered. A new, stand-alone, online Writer's Toolkit features full-color samples of the types of fundraising packages discussed in Chapters 10-19 in addition to full color versions of some of the b&w examples in the book, the online examples in Chapter 20, and additional samples of eNewsletters and online appeals.
This book highlights key things savvy proposal writers do to attract and secure prospective funders. With clear, concise instructions, this book demystifies grant proposal writing, from the initial development phase, to the writing and submissions phase, to the grant award phase, to the final delivery of project results phase.
The Nuts and Bolts of Grant Writing by Cynthia E. CarrIn this practical, accessible guide for students, faculty, and other university personnel, author Cynthia E. Carr shares her best practices for planning, writing, and winning research grants based on her own experience submitting more than 300 grant proposals and securing millions of dollars in awards. Insightful, innovative, and informative, the book goes beyond coverage of standard grant writing to specifically address the issues faced by the higher education community, including the university bureaucracy and how to navigate it. The Nuts and Bolts of Grant Writing covers everything from budgets to submissions and federal to foundation competitions, giving novices the opportunity to leapfrog over some of the hard lessons that most college and university grant seekers must learn from trial and error and allowing those with more experience to sharpen their skills.
Publication Date: 2014
Finding Funding by Charles M. Achilles; Ernest W. Brewer; Nancy S. HeadleeThe fifth edition of this bestseller brings the reader up-to-date with newly researched Web sites and effective strategies for writing government, foundation, and private grants.
Publication Date: 2008
Perfect Phrases for Writing Grant Proposals by Beverly BrowningThe Right Phrase for Every Situation...Every Time These days, it's not enough to work for a good cause or worthy organization. If you want to receive funding from a corporation, community, foundation, or government institution, it all comes down to one thing: your proposal. With hundreds of ready-to-use "Perfect Phrases," you'll quickly know the right words to use for the three major sections of every successful grant proposal: How to introduce yourself, your program, and your achievements How to describe your goals-and what funding will accomplish What you should include as your supporting documents With this comprehensive, user-friendly approach to grant writing, you'll be able to tackle the various proposal formats, create a professional purpose statement, and back up your plan with solid data. Plus, you'll discover some insider secrets that will really get the attention you want-and the funding you need.