HST 496/713A: Sport, Leisure, and Recreation in American History (Dr. Demas): Web Resources

"The Negro Leagues Baseball Museum was founded in 1990 in Kansas City, Missouri. It is a privately funded museum dedicated to preserving the history of Negro league baseball in America. The museum chronologically charts the progress of the Negro leagues with informative placards and interactive exhibits. Its walls are lined with pictures of players, owners, and officials of Negro league baseball from the Negro National League of 1920 through the Negro American League, which lasted until 1960."

"Our Primary Aim is to answer our users' questions with the easiest-to-use, fastest, and most complete sports statistics anywhere. The Sports Reference sites first launched with Baseball-Reference.com in April 2000 by Sean Forman, Pro-Football-Reference.com in December of 2000 by Doug Drinen, and Basketball-Reference.com in April of 2004 by Justin Kubatko."

"The IOC Olympic Studies Centre is the world source of reference for Olympic knowledge. Our mission is to share this knowledge with professionals and researchers through providing information, giving access to our unique collections, enabling research and stimulating intellectual exchange."

"The AAGPBL Players Association, Inc. is an active, nonprofit organization to promote social activities and opportunities for its members. Its purposes are to research, collect, document, and preserve the history of the All-American Girls Professional Baseball League, and to disseminate educational information regarding the history of the League and its personnel."

"The Society for American Baseball Research had its beginnings in Cooperstown, New York. It was the brainchild of L. Robert Davids, who on August 10, 1971, gathered 15 other baseball researchers at the National Baseball Hall of Fame to form the organization. From this modest start, SABR membership has broadened steadily. A decade later, it had reached 1,500; today, it totals more than 6,000 worldwide. Who belongs to SABR? Many major and minor league baseball officials, broadcasters and writers, as well as numerous former players. Primarily, the membership consists of 'just plain fans' — anyone interested in baseball can join. While the original purpose of SABR was to band together baseball historians, statisticians and researchers, it is not necessary to engage in research to become a member."

A digital exhibition.

The official website of the Library of Congress. Features many internal sites of historical interest, including American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library, a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The American Memory site offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections.

The archival search engine of the National Archives that provides online full-text access to important documents dealing with American history and foreign policy.

Created by Tom Daccord for students, history educators, and general history enthusiasts. A good and fairly comprehensive listing of major history websites.

A "gateway to web resources as well as a repository of unique teaching materials, first-person primary documents, and guides to analyzing historical evidence for high school and college students and teachers of American history." Originally developed by the American Social History Project/Center for Media & Learning, City University of New York, and the Center for History and New Media, George Mason University

"A non-profit digital library offering free universal access to books, periodical articles, movies and music, as well as 150 billion archived web pages."

HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.

Provides information and news from hundreds of American newspapers from 1836 to 1922.