HST 496WI/766: East Asia and the West (Dr. Jennifer Liu Demas): Web Resources

The archival search engine of the National Archives that provides online full-text access to important documents dealing with American history and foreign policy.

"An initiative of the Weatherhead East Asian Institute at Columbia University, Asia for Educators (AFE) is designed to serve faculty and students in world history, culture, geography, art, and literature at the undergraduate and pre-college levels."

This Fordham University page is a subset of texts derived from the three major online Sourcebooks listed below, along with added texts and web site indicators. For more contextual information, for instance about Western imperialism, or the history of a given period, check out these web sites. Since it was created in 1996 many of the primary sources and texts linked to have gone off line. Where possible links to the Internet Archive versions of these documents have been substituted as they should still be of use to teachers and students.

As part of the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, this site includes many online full-text original documents related to the Cold War. Access to these documents is through the Virtual Archive button and the Documents and Papers button.

"This digital collection, supported by the College of Education at the University of Houston, includes primary and secondary sources on a wide variety of topics concerning American history and culture. The collection is especially strong in its coverage of racial and ethnic minorities and other underrepresented groups within the United States. Sources include textbooks, newspapers, legal records, multimedia files, and teaching tools."

A collection of full-text documents posted by Mt. Holyoke College related to the Cold War and its relation to American foreign policy.

Searchable database of 44,463,845+ images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States

"Welcome to East Asian History in its new electronic form. East Asian History is an international refereed journal publishing scholarly research on all aspects of historical studies in East Asia."

This is a segment of the International History Sourcebook via Fordham University: "There is no way of avoiding the fact that China is the central culture of Eastern Asia. Massively larger than any of her neighbors, China may have  developed its cultural forms in relative isolation, but since the advent of Buddhism has both absorbed outside influences and disseminated its own culture. Japanese, Korean and Vietnamese cultures are not comprehensible without taking into account power of Chinese culture in art, literature and religion."

A World-wide resource that covers over two centuries, with links to digitized copies of the original texts for the older publications (where available, Google links to the newspapers' own online archives).

A "gateway to web resources as well as a repository of unique teaching materials, first-person primary documents, and guides to analyzing historical evidence for high school and college students and teachers of American history." Originally developed by the American Social History Project/Center for Media & Learning, City University of New York, and the Center for History and New Media, George Mason University

"The Internet Archive is a non-profit informational entity that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format."

The official website of the Library of Congress. Features many internal sites of historical interest, including American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library, a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The American Memory site offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections.

"The Sixties Project began as a collective of humanities scholars working together on the Internet to use electronic resources to provide routes of collaboration and make available primary and secondary sources for researchers, students, teachers, writers and librarians interested in the Sixties. In 1993, the Sixties Project received a Networked Associate Fellowship from the Institute for Advanced Technology in the Humanities (IATH), University of Virginia at Charlottesville."

"The Veterans History Project of the American Folklife Center collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans so that future generations may hear directly from veterans and better understand the realities of war."

"The mission of the Vietnam Center at Texas Tech University is to support and encourage research and education regarding all aspects of the American Vietnam experience; promoting a greater understanding of this experience and the peoples and cultures of Southeast Asia. Its functions are threefold: support for the Vietnam Archive and the collection and preservation of pertinent historical source material; promotion of education through exhibits, classroom instruction, educational programs, and publications; and encouragement of related scholarship through organizing and hosting conferences and symposia, academic, educational, and cultural exchanges, and the publishing of scholarly research. The Vietnam Center seeks to provide a forum for all points of view and for all topics relating to Indochina, particularly - but not limited to - the American military involvement there."

A massive internet resource covering a very wide range of subjects dealing with the Vietnam War, including a large number of primary resource websites hosted by U.S. Government Departments, educational institutions, archives and personal sites.