HST 238: Ancient Greece and Rome: Web Resources

A collections of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts for educational use. The site and its documents, edited by Paul Halsall, are well organized and the breadth of materials is quite extensive.

A collections of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts for educational use. The site and its documents, edited by Paul Halsagll, are well organized and the breadth of materials is quite extensive.

A collections of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts for educational use. The site and its documents, edited by Paul Halsagll, are well organized and the breadth of materials is quite extensive.

"A non-profit digital library offering free universal access to books, periodical articles, movies and music, as well as 150 billion archived web pages."

"Our flagship collection, under development since 1987, covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. We are applying what we have learned from Classics to other subjects within the humanities and beyond."

"Abzu is a guide to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world." ABZU is part of the ETANA web project (see above)

"The Oriental Institute is a research organization and museum devoted to the study of the ancient Near East. Founded in 1919 by James Henry Breasted, the Institute, a part of the University of Chicago, is an internationally recognized pioneer in the archaeology, philology, and history of early Near Eastern civilizations."

"Ancient History Encyclopedia is a non-profit educational website with the mission to provide the best ancient history information on the internet for free. We exist as a reference to ancient history educators, students, and enthusiasts. All contributions to this website are submitted and reviewed by expert volunteers who wish to share their knowledge."

Part of the Metropolitan Museum of Art's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History.

Part of the Metropolitan Museum of Art's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History.

"Diotima serves as an interdisciplinary resource for anyone interested in patterns of gender around the ancient Mediterranean and as a forum for collaboration among instructors who teach courses about women and gender in the ancient world. This site includes course materials, the beginnings of a systematic and searchable bibliography, and links to many on-line resources, including articles, book reviews, databases, and images. Ross Scaife and Suzanne Bonefas launched this project in early 1995; since that time it has been developed mainly by Scaife, but with help and contributions from many quarters."

The Riley Collection, dating to the period when Rome was at its greatest prosperity--the first century B.C. to the third century A.D.--is especially good at introducing students and those interested in ancient Rome to the diversity of the Roman world. Ranging from patricians to plebeians, the collection includes not only emperors and senators, but also men, women, and children from all walks of life. Finally, the collection provides a unique opportunity for people to get to know Romans as individual human beings who were concerned about many of the same issues that we are: identity, status, leadership, and gender.

A very extensive list of websites dealing with aspects of art history in the ancient Greek world.

A very extensive list of websites dealing with aspects of art history in the ancient Roman world.

"Encyclopedia Mythica is dedicated to become the single largest resource on mythology and folklore on the internet. The present edition contains thousands of articles about deities and beings from all corners of the world, and new articles are added frequently. The information in the encyclopedia has been compiled from a great number of different and unique sources (books, journals and publications, oral traditions, etc.) into one, easily accessible website."

"Ancient History Encyclopedia was founded in 2009 by Jan van der Crabben. He realized that the internet was missing a reliable and comprehensive resource for ancient history. What was available online was either scattered across various websites, illegible due to poor presentations or tainted with a distinct nationalist agenda. The founder also had the idea that history was not linear (as it is taught in most school coursebooks), but rather a very parallel type of story, where everything is interlinked. After much programming on a netbook during daily train rides from London to Horsham in the United Kingdom, the site was launched to the public in August 2009. Since then, it has grown from a small history website to the largest and most popular history encyclopedia on the internet.

"The Classical Studies Web is designed to provide access to scholarly resources. The emphasis is on the Ancient Mediterranean (particularly Greece and Rome) during the Classical and Hellenistic periods. The resources organized here have undergone a selection and evaluation process. If needed, annotations have been provided augmenting the research value of these resources to scholars. The main focus is on freely accessible open access sources."