An argument is a set of propositions designed to demonstrate that a particular conclusion, called the thesis, is true. An argument is not simply a statement of opinion, but an attempt to give reasons for holding certain opinions. An historical argument gives reasons for holding a certain opinion about an event in the past.
An historical argument should include the following elements: 1. Thesis Statement; 2. The Argument; 3. The Evidence. The historical argument should always be evaluated to assure that the argument is persuasive, the reasons for the argument are plausible, and there is sufficient evidence to support the argument. It is important that the historical argument take into account counter examples for the sake of objectivity.
Search the complete text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2017 for PDF images of original articles which include photographs and drawings
Articles from scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. NOTE: In many cases, articles from the last 3-5 years are NOT available due to publisher copyright restrictions.
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present
Offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
A database of humanities and social science content. Offers complete, full-text versions of more than 700 scholarly journals from many of the world's leading universities and scholarly societies and more than 60,000 books from more than 100 publishers.
Provides a history of the American people and a testament to the growth of the nation from the colonial period through to the twentieth century.
Humanities Source is a valuable full-text database covering literary, scholarly and creative thought. It provides full text, indexing and abstracts for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities.
The links below are to citation generators. These are sites that allow you to add citation information to a form and submit it, and then receive a properly formatted citation in the style of your choosing. They work for APA, MLA, and other major citation styles.
NOTE: Be sure to check the references generated by these tools against a style manual or other credible source.
