Here are a small sample of CMU Library books (in print or electronic formats) on German language, grammar, and literature.
The Cambridge History of German Literature by Helen Watanabe-O'Kelly (Editor)
Call Number: PT91 .C36 1997
Publication Date: 1997-01-09
This book describes German literary history up to the unification of Germany in 1990. Contributors, all leading scholars in their field, take a fresh look at the main authors and movements, and also ask what Germans in a given period were actually reading and writing, what they would have seen at the local theatre or found in the local lending library; it includes, for example, discussions of literature in Latin as well as in German, eighteenth-century letters and popular novels, Nazi literature and radio plays, and modern Swiss and Austrian literature. A prominence is given to writing by women. The book is designed for general readers as well as students and scholars: titles and quotations are translated, and there is an extensive bibliography.
The Challenge of German Culture by Michael Butler (Editor); Robert Evans (Editor)
Call Number: PT36.B88 C43 2000
Publication Date: 2001-01-06
This collection of essays by leading German scholars from Britain, Germany, and the United States covers German literature, culture, and politics from the Middle Ages to the present day. Literary analysis is combined with approaches derived from sociology and cultural studies; historical assessment of literature and writers is accompanied by close linguistic criticism of texts. Essays on intellectual history, the continuing impact of the Third Reich on literature, parody, the tension between high and low literature, and the special case of cultural production, including fine art, in the former German Democratic Republic are balanced with discussion of the impact of dictatorship and Anglo-Saxon Liberalism on German society, the revival of Jewry since 1945, and the legacy of "1968" on contemporary German Politics. The result is a fascinating, if electic, introduction to the vitality and richness of university German studies on the threshold of the new millennium.
Collins German-English, English-German Dictionary by Peter Terrell
Call Number: PF3640 .C64 2004t
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
The latest edition of the highly acclaimed 'Collins German Dictionary' has been revised and updated to include the vocabulary of current issues, including bioterrorism, plus all the changes of recent spelling reforms.
A Companion to German Literature by Peter N. Skrine; Eda Sagarra
Call Number: PT236 .S55 1997
Publication Date: 1997-08-25
Presents, in an immensely readable yet profoundly scholarly account, the history of German literature from the Reformation and Renaissance to the late twentieth century, in the wider context of Germanic culture, over the whole German-speaking area of Europe.
Encyclopedia of German Literature by Matthias Konzett (Editor)
Call Number: PT41 .E53 2000t
Publication Date: 2000-03-01
Designed to provide English readers of German literature the opportunity to familiarize themselves with both the established canon and newly emerging literatures that reflect the concerns of women and ethnic minorities, the two volume Encyclopedia of German Literature includes more than 500 entries on writers, individual work, and topics essential to an understanding of this rich literary tradition. International experts contributed essays on German literature, culture, and history and society. In addition to the essays, "author" entries include biographies and works lists; and "works" entries provide information about first editions, selected critical editions, and English-language translations. All entries conclude with a list of further readings.
German Literature by Nicholas Boyle
Call Number: PT91 .B69 2008eb
Publication Date: 2008-05-28
German writers, be it Goethe, Nietzsche, Marx, Brecht or Mann, have had a profound influence on the modern world. This iVery Short Introduction/i illuminates the particular character and power of German literature and its impact on the wider cultural world. Nicholas Boyle presents an engrossing tour of the course of German literature from the middle Ages to the 20th century, focussing especially on the last 250 years. He looks at key themes like idealism, modernism, and trauma, showing how they have imbued the great German writers with such distinctive voices.
German Grammar Drills by Ed Swick
Call Number: PF3112 .S95 2012eb
Publication Date: 2012-02-28
This eBook introduces essential grammar concepts, with practical examples to demonstrate their correct usage. Inside this edition you'll find: More than 200 exercises accompanied by an answer key; Authentic examples to show you correct grammar usage; and New review sections that will bring you up to speed on grammar
Can't find the book you need at CMU Libraries?
Search MeLCat to find books you can request from other libraries around Michigan.