Central Michigan UniversityGo Research!CMU LibrariesImage Map

Go Research! Tutorial: Getting Full Text

URL: https://libguides.cmich.edu/goresearch

Finding Full Text Articles 2

Once you have refined your list of results, it is time to retrieve the article(s) you want to read. An article is considered full text when it is available in its entirety online. Most, but not all, databases provide two forms of full text articles, HTML or PDF.

Not all articles listed in a database are available full text; some article records only provide an abstract. However, it is possible that the article is full text in another database, and that is when you will want to use Find It! The Find It! system will check to see if an article not available full text in one database is full text in another database.

If the article is available full text in another database, click GO to retrieve the article.

Request Articles through Documents on Demand

Unfortunately, not every article is available online. You can request copies of specific articles through Documents on Demand

If CMU does not have an article in its collection, Documents on Demand will try and get you a copy from another institution. Regardless of where it comes from, they will try and get you a copy as soon as possible.

Getting Full Text - Summary

A few things to remember about getting full text articles:

  • Not everything is online.
     
  • Use  to see if an article is online.
     
  • You can request copies of articles from Documents on Demand.

Central Michigan University Library, 250 East Preston Street, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-1100 | Contact Us

CMU, an AA/EO institution, strongly and actively strives to increase diversity and provide equal opportunity within its community.

Copyright © Central Michigan University, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-4000 | Privacy Policy