Diversity, Cultural Competence, and Health Disparities: Videos

Available through Films on Demand database.
This program documents one of Elliott's diversity training seminars, modeled on an experiment she first conducted as a third-grade teacher in 1968. In the film, British citizens of varied racial and cultural backgrounds are separated into brown-eyed "superiors" and blue-eyed "inferiors." Before the day is over, a handful will have stormed out and the remaining group will face painful truths and equally painful opinions about race in the 21st century.

Available through Films on Demand database.
Culturally competent care adapts care interventions to the cultural needs and preferences (ethnic and religious beliefs, values, and practices) of diverse clients. This program provides practical and effective methods for recognizing and dealing with the particular needs of clients coming from different cultures.

Available in the Counseling and Therapy in Video database.
Through the use of vignettes, explores mental health issues and treatment considerations in working with Arab Americans.. Discusses counseling issues, treatment considerations, possible interventions and also cultural knowledge that would be helpful in treating clients from the Arab-American community.

Available in the Counseling and Therapy in Video database.
A lecture about cultural competence in the helping professions. How applicable are our standards of clinical practice for racial-ethnic minority groups or other populations like gay/lesbians, the disabled, and so forth? Is there any difference between counseling a white client and counseling, let's say, a Black client? What do we mean by multiculturalism and diversity? Do other special populations, for example, such as women, gay, lesbians, the elderly, and those with disabilities constitute a distinct cultural group? And lastly, what we will address today is what do we mean by the phrase, "cultural competence?"

Available in Films on Demand database.
This program provides nurses and other health professionals with practical and effective methods of recognizing, respecting, and meeting cultural needs. Topics include conducting an initial cultural assessment, addressing food- and language-related challenges, understanding religious customs, and becoming a client advocate. Includes detailed conversations with members of specific cultural groups, including Haitian, Peruvian, Indian, Bangladeshi, and Jewish communities.

Available in Films on Demand database.
An exploration of the notion of race, this program follows host Paul Duddridge as he pushes aside society’s taboos to find out what “race” really is. Duddridge organizes a mini-Olympics based on racial identity to demonstrate the fluidity of the concept With significant input from sociologists, anthropologists, and authors including John Baugh (Beyond Ebonics), Kwame Anthony Appiah (The Ethics of Identity), and Jon Entine (Abraham's Children: Race, Identity and the DNA of the Chosen People), the video examines some common misconceptions about race.

Check this DVD out at the Library Service Desk 2nd Floor ; DVD 1178
This program examines the relationship between leadership and diversity in health care. Personal learning styles, the principles and foundations of empowerment, and a discovery of personal stereotypes are explored.

Available in Films on Demand database.
Healthy living presents special challenges for members of minorities living in lower-income neighborhoods—particularly senior citizens. This program examines those challenges, and the health problems that can result, by focusing on African-Americans and Latinos

University of North Carolina Gillings School of Global Public Health
Current-year webcast video at the top of the page.
Webcasts from prior years available in the NHREW Webcast Archive, linked

Available in Films on Demand database.
Muslims, blacks, gays, people with disabilities, and immigrants of every ethnicity and color: these and many other groups have stood in the spotlight glare of intolerance, easy targets for every sort of discrimination and violence. What makes people prone to irrational hate, and what steps can individuals and society take to eradicate it?

Available in Films on Demand database.
When his American doctor suggested shoulder replacement surgery, veteran reporter T. R. Reid decided to investigate other options. This program documents his three-week stay at a clinic in southern India dedicated to the ancient practice of ayurveda, a form of Hindu medicine.

Available in Films on Demand database.
If the challenges and complexities of a transgendered lifestyle are hard for some people to identify with, firsthand accounts of those experiences may be the best means of creating more understanding. This program features real-world portraits of individuals from the transgendered community—men and women describing for the camera what they’ve gone through and, in other scenes, going about their daily lives.