How to Create Permanent Links to Articles, Books, and Other Materials: Home

URL: https://libguides.cmich.edu/links

What is a permanent link, why ...

What is a permanent link?

A permanent link also known as a persistent link, stable link, or permanent link, is a URL that connects directly to a specific full-text article, ebook, or streaming media, etc. in CMU Libraries' subscriptions.

Why should we use permanent links?

Permanent links can be placed within course materials in Blackboard, syllabi, readings lists, or research portfolios. They allow students to access articles, ebooks, videos, etc., directly from CMU Libraries' subscriptions both on and off campus.

Using permanent links helps CMU users in compliance with copyright law and database licenses, as well as provides the library with accurate use statistics for renewal decisions, for example, in a way that downloading full text articles from databases and then uploading them into users' courses materials and research portfolios.

How to link to articles?

How to link to a database?

How to link to an ejournal?

How to link to an ebook?

How to link to a streaming media?

What happens when you use a permanent link from off campus?

When you click on a permalink from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your CMU Glob ID username and password before you are granted access to the linked information (usually an article from a database). Once you enter your username/password, the link should bring you directly to the article.

The guide is made by Rui Wang. If you have questions, please email: wang1r@cmich.edu

 

How to make permanent links

The following are examples of where you can find the permanent links in some of our most popular databases. In some cases, you need manually add the CMU library's proxy prefix http://cmich.idm.oclc.org/login?url=  to the URL. For example: http://cmich.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/cmich-ebooks/detail.action?docID=894217

EBSCO

Films on Demand

HeinOnline

Gale

Issues & Controversies

JSTOR

ProQuest

PubMed

Web of Science

CMU library Smart Search

EBSCO

Click into the full record for the article.

Locate the Permalink button in the right hand column.

Click on it and the permanlink for the article will appear. Copy and paste it into your research profile or course.

Films on Demand

Click the Embed/Link link.

Send the Record URL for people to watch the full video.

You can also embed the video into your course in Blackboard by copying and pasting the Embed Code.

HeinOnline

Open the link of the document

Click the link of "Permanent link to this page" on the top.

Gale

Locate the bookmark button in the upper right corner first,

Copy and paste the link located in the bookmark pop-up window.

Issues & Controversies

Click "Share" under "Page Tools," and then click "Share"

Click "Record URL" in the pop-up window, and copy/paste the link.

JSTOR

Click into the full record for the article in JSTOR.

Locate the Stable URL listed under the title, for example: https://www.jstor.org/stable/24968008

Copy and paste the URL into your research profile or course

Add the CMU library's proxy prefix http://cmich.idm.oclc.org/login?url=  to the URL to enable access from both on and off campus.

for example, the permanent URL should look like this:

http://cmich.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/24968008

ProQuest

Follow this video clip https://www.screencast.com/t/X9SJ9CqmLrYv to look for "Document URL"

 

PubMed

Follow this video clip https://www.screencast.com/t/X9SJ9CqmLrYv to look for "Full text links" on top right screen of PubMed,

Add CMU library proxy prefix http://cmich.idm.oclc.org/login?url= in front of the doi link located in the full text provider page. For example, the permanent link should look like this:

http://cmich.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0219465

Web of Science

Locate DOI in the record page, 10.1039/c6cs00930a

Add the DOI to http://dx.doi.org/: for example, http://dx.doi.org/10.1039/c6cs00930a

Add CMU library proxy prefix http://cmich.idm.oclc.org/login?url= in front of the whole DOI link, for example, the permanent URL should look like this: 

http://cmich.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1039/c6cs00930a

Smart Search

Either copy/paste "PERMALINK," OR, follow this video clip to link the item directly.

 

Central Michigan University Library, 250 East Preston Street, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-1100 | Contact Us

CMU, an AA/EO institution, strongly and actively strives to increase diversity and provide equal opportunity within its community.

Copyright © Central Michigan University, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-4000 | Privacy Policy