This is the "Find Films" page of the "Finding Videos" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finding Videos  

This guide provides an overview of how to find films (VHS, DVD, and Streaming) in the Libraries' collections, as well as links to a number of free streaming video sites.
Last Updated: Mar 11, 2013 URL: http://libguides.cmich.edu/videos Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Find Films Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Research Help

Telephone
(989) 774 - 3470

Email

Text Message

(989) 572 - 0411

In Person

By Appointment
      
     

    Finding Films

    All films we own are searchable via Title in the Centra catalog. If you wish to search by filmmaker, elect to try an Author search (limiting your results to DVD/Video after the fact).

    If you want to search for film holdings on certain topics (most of the collection—both physical and streaming formats—are educational or technical films rather than features), do a Keyword Search. For films, however, it is important to change the Material Type from ANY to DVD/VIDEO. If you wish to do a Keyword Search for streaming films, change the Location from ANY to General Collection and change Material Type from ANY to DVD/VIDEO.

     

    Search the Centra Catalog For Films

     

    Films from the Catalog

    Here are several examples of our film holdings. Both DVDs and streaming films are represented below. The DVDs are available for checkout from Media Services (Park 101), and streaming films are available to CMU students, staff, and faculty anytime, anywhere. (If off-campus, CMU users will be prompted to type in their CMU Global IDs and passwords to access the streaming titles.)

    Cover Art
    Alfred Hitchcock: The Masterpiece Collection
    Call Number: DVD 0627 - DVD 6030
    Set of 15 DVDs that provide the original versions of many of Hitchcock's classics films.

    Cover Art
    Rome (First Season)
    Call Number: DVD 0917
    We own both seasons of this HBO series.

    Cover Art
    All in the Family: The Complete First Season
    Call Number: DVD 2026
    This is another television series for which we own all of the seasons (nine). Please note: Our television series holdings are very limited.

    Cover Art
    Deadly Driving Distractions : Texting, Cell Phones, and Other Killers
    Call Number: online
    This streaming film is from the FMG Health Collection, which we lease. It is one of 1100+ titles in the collection.

    Cover Art
    Influences on the Health of Individuals
    Call Number: online
    This is another FMG Health Collection streaming film.

    Subject Librarian

    Profile Image
    Stephanie Mathson
    Contact Info
    228 Park Library
    989-774-3071
    maths1sm@cmich.edu
    Send Email
     

    Central Michigan University Library, 250 East Preston Street, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-1100 | Contact Us


    CMU, an AA/EO institution, strongly and actively strives to increase diversity and provide equal opportunity within its community.

    Copyright © Central Michigan University, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-4000 | Privacy Policy

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip