Published tests are commercially available tests that are can be purchased through test publishers. Publishers hold the copyright to tests they distribute, and they maintain the copies of tests, test manuals, and scoring keys. Tests in Print (TIP), the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY), Tests, and Test Critiques are the four most useful and popular references.
- Mental measurements yearbook with Tests in print
Access to both MMY and TIP. Published by the Buros Center for Testing since 1938, the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) and Tests in Print (TIP) series are the recognized standards for essential information about tests used by individuals and organizations seeking formations critical to the evaluation, selection, and use of specific instruments.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook - CMU library print collection
The print volumes 2nd - 18th are located in the 2nd and 4th floors of Park Library with call number Z5814.P8 B932. The MMY series consists of descriptive entries, references, and critical reviews of commercially published tests in the English language. The MMY series is hierarchical because each MMY includes reviews of tests that new or substantially revised since the previous MMY.
- Tests in Print - CMU library print collection
The library has five editions with call number Z5814.E9 T47. TIP is a bibliographic encyclopedia of information on every published (and commercially available) test in psychology and achievement. The most current TIP edition serve as a master index to the whole MMY series.
- Tests : a comprehensive reference for assessments in psychology, education, and business
Tests is a bibliographic encyclopedia containing information on thousands of testing instruments in psychology, education, and business. It provides concise descriptions of tests, with each entry including the test title and author, the intended population, the tests purpose, the major features, the administration time, the scoring method, the cost and availability, and the primary publisher. Also, a scanning line uses coded visual keys to indicate whether the test is self- or examiner-administered. Tests does not contain evaluative critiques or data on reliability, validity, or norms;
- Test Critiques
This text is designed to be a companion to Tests and contains supplemental information designated as 'not appropriate for inclusion in that directory. This includes psychometric information such as reliability, validity, and norm development. The tri-part entry for each test includes an Introduction, Practical Applications/Uses, and Technical Aspects, followed by a critique.
- Psychware Sourcebook
This reference identifies and describes over 533 computer-based assessment tools, including computerized versions of paper-and-pencil tests and computer-based scoring and interpretation systems. It serves as a directory of available computer services and contains no reviews or critiques of software or services. Each item entry provides the test (or instrument) name, supplier, category (see below), applications, scale restrictions, type and cost of service, and product description. Also, an appendix showcases sample screens and sample outputs for many products, lending a realistic preview of services.
- Buros Center for Testing's website
At the Buros Center for Testing's website, search engines allow you to examine a large amount ) of information on tests and testing.
Psychological measures are not limited to published tests; a gold mine of unpublished (or noncommercial) inventories, checklists, scales, projective techniques, and other instruments exist in the behavioral sciences literature and directories of unpublished or noncommercial tests and measures.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) 1985-present
HaPI is a database that provides access to information on approximately 15,000 measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, coding schemes, rating scales, etc.) in the fields of health and psychosocial sciences.
Many measures created or modified for specific studies appear in journals, but never become commercially available. HaPI publicizes their existence and allows researchers and students to benefit from past work and avoid re-creating existing instruments. HAPI uses controlled vocabulary descriptors from APAs Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms and the National Library of Medicine's Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). The database, which is updated quarterly, contains over 15,000 instruments, most appearing in the literature between 1985 and the present. One particularly useful feature is that reliability and validity can be used as keywords to access instruments with tested psychometric properties.
- PsycTESTS 1901-present
PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales and other assessments as well as descriptive and administrative information. It focuses primarily on unpublished tests, those developed by researchers but not made commercially available. Most records link to a variety of materials describing the test in peer-reviewed literature, technical reports, or dissertations as well as links to related peer-reviewed literature describing test development, review, or use. All records include a summary that describes the test, with its purpose and some history of its development. Most records include the actual test instrument
If you found none of the tests or surveys in the directories or databases seem suitable for your study, there is a chance that the measure you need is in the published literature, but has not yet been referenced in any of these directories. You can locate more tests through a literature search in PsycINFO. If the article mentions the use of a test or measure or describes its development, you will find the name of the test in the Tests and Measures field. These citations also include the university or organizational affiliation of the authors, along with an address where you can forward correspondence regarding the article. Write to the author and ask for more information on the test or measure.Limit your search to Tests and measure
- Directory of psychological tests in the sport and exercise sciences
This book summarises information on over 300 psychological scales questionnaires and inventories specific to sport and exercise settings. This second edition features test summaries addressing exercise motivation, sport motivation, aggression, cognitive strategies, leadership cohesion and anxiety.
- Directory of unpublished experimental mental measures
This valuable directory provides researchers and students easy access to recently developed experimental mental measures, tests, and surveys that are not commercially available. These measures have been used by other researchers on topics ranging from educational adjustment and motivation to personality and perception. The tests are arranged in a 24-category system and are grouped according to function and content, noting purpose, format, psychometric information (where available), and related research. The newest category, Adjustment: Vocation,' identifies articles addressing burnout, vocational maturity, job-related stress, job frustration, and job satisfaction.
- ETS Test Collection
The Test Collection at ETS is a database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices, most of which were created by authors outside ETS. It makes information on standardized tests and research instruments available to researchers, graduate students and teachers.
- Measures for psychological assessment : a guide to 3,000 original sources and their applications
This text provides annotated references to thousands of psychological measures first appearing in journal articles or other publications. The first section, 'Primary References,' lists each of these 3,000-plus article references, along with the name of the measure and one or more applications of this measure in other experimental studies. The 'Applications' section lists over 6,600 additional studies that provide experimental tests or additional uses of the original measures. This text can help the researcher answer such questions as What empirical findings have been produced by the use of a given measure? or What additional information about a measure has been acquired since its publication?
Although it contains a wealth of references to experimental measures and corresponding research, this text is outdated. It is a helpful resource when looking for a specific measure appearing in the literature during the 1960s or early 1970.