Research Guides: Tests & Measurements: Access to tests and measurements

Published tests

Published tests are commercially available tests that are can be purchased through test publishers. Publishers hold the copyright to tests they distribute, and they maintain the copies of tests, test manuals, and scoring keys. Tests in Print (TIP), the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY), Tests, and Test Critiques are the four most useful and popular references.

Mental measurements yearbook with Tests in print
The Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) and Tests in Print (TIP) series are the recognized standards for essential information about tests used by individuals and organizations seeking formations critical to the evaluation, selection, and use of specific instruments.
Mental Measurements Yearbook - CMU library print collection
The print volumes 2nd - 18th are located in the 2nd and 4th floors of Park Library with call number Z5814.P8 B932. The MMY series consists of descriptive entries, references, and critical reviews of commercially published tests in the English language.
Tests in Print - CMU library print collection
The library has five editions with call number Z5814.E9 T47. The most current TIP edition serve as a master index to the whole MMY series.
Tests : a comprehensive reference for assessments in psychology, education, and business
Tests is a bibliographic encyclopedia containing information on thousands of testing instruments in psychology, education, and business.
Test Critiques
This text is designed to be a companion to Tests and contains supplemental information designated as 'not appropriate for inclusion in that directory.
Psychware Sourcebook
This reference identifies and describes over 533 computer-based assessment tools, including computerized versions of paper-and-pencil tests and computer-based scoring and interpretation systems.
Buros Center for Testing's website
At the Buros Center for Testing's website, search engines allow you to examine a large amount ) of information on tests and testing.

Unpublished tests

Psychological measures are not limited to published tests; a gold mine of unpublished (or noncommercial) inventories, checklists, scales, projective techniques, and other instruments exist in the behavioral sciences literature and directories of unpublished or noncommercial tests and measures.

PsycTESTS (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, and other assessments as well as descriptive and administrative information.

PsycINFO
If you found none of the tests or surveys in the directories or databases seem suitable for your study, there is a chance that the measure you need is in the published literature, but has not yet been referenced in any of these directories. You can locate more tests through a literature search in PsycINFO. If the article mentions the use of a test or measure or describes its development, you will find the name of the test in the Tests and Measures field. These citations also include the university or organizational affiliation of the authors, along with an address where you can forward correspondence regarding the article. Write to the author and ask for more information on the test or measure.
Limit your search to Tests and measure
Directory of psychological tests in the sport and exercise sciences
This book summarises information on over 300 psychological scales questionnaires and inventories specific to sport and exercise settings. This second edition features test summaries addressing exercise motivation, sport motivation, aggression, cognitive strategies, leadership cohesion and anxiety.
Directory of unpublished experimental mental measures
This directory provides researchers and students easy access to recently developed experimental mental measures, tests, and surveys that are not commercially available.
ETS Test Collection
The Test Collection at ETS is a database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices, most of which were created by authors outside ETS. It makes information on standardized tests and research instruments available to researchers, graduate students and teachers.
Measures for psychological assessment : a guide to 3,000 original sources and their applications
This text provides annotated references to thousands of psychological measures first appearing in journal articles or other publications.
APA PsycNet
Full-text access to unpublished psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments. Most records include the actual test instrument.

Research Help

Having roadblocks during your research process? Need help to find appropriate sources to develop your research project? Click the button to make a one-on-one appointment with your librarian Rui Wang, Social Science Librarian / Professor , Email wang1r@cmich.edu

Subject Librarian

Rui Wang

Email Me

Contact:

Email: wang1r@cmich.edu
Office: Park Library 232

989-774-4218

Subjects: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Datasets and Statistical Information, Military Science, Neuroscience, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration, Social Work, Sociology