Research Guides: English 101 and 201 for Dr. Brooke Harrison: Find Articles

Contact the CMU Libraries

	Ask a Librarian
	Call (989) 774-3114
	Email
	Schedule a Consultation

The Chronicle of Higher Education Database

The Chronicle is a very important periodical (now available online) for higher education issues and debates.

The Chronicle of Higher Education (Online)
This non-scholarly resource will be valuable in finding articles about issues and debates concerning higher education.

General/Multidisciplinary Databases

Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
Essays on today’s crucial issues and hot topics in politics, business, education, the environment, medicine, and more. A great resource for overview and persuasive papers and speeches.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This series takes a pro-con approach to today’s social issues and hot topics in politics, business, education, the environment, medicine, and more. It's the perfect resource when you have to take one side of a debate or have to write a persuasive essay.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database indexes high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.

Newspaper Databases

Links to selected newspaper databases relevant to the your course assignment. As you can see, some of them are local newspapers which could be helpful.

Westlaw News This link opens in a new window
Search separately or combined for news in Reuters publications, blogs, magazines, newspapers, transcripts, or wires. Includes U. S. and international publications.

Central Michigan Life
Campus Newspaper. Current issues located in the Mary Dow Reading Room by title.

Subject-specific Databases

Databases by Subject
Follow the links here for a variety of resources useful for research in specific career fields and disciplines.

Links to selected article databases relevant to the field of higher education.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Indexes published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics
PsycINFO (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Coverage of research in applied psychology, developmental psychology, personality, and more.

Find a Specific Article or Journal

Subject Librarian

Aparna Zambare

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

214 Park Library

(989) 774 6427

Subjects: Biographies, Children's Literature, English Language & Literature, Philosophy, Religion, Theatre & Dance, Women and Gender Studies

Dictionaries and Thesauri

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The OED is widely regarded as the most significant dictionary of the English language, offering the meaning, history, and pronunciation of more than 600,000 words —past and present— from across the English-speaking world.

Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE)
Published by Harvard University Press.
Roget's 21st Century Thesaurus in Dictionary Form