Research Guides: Children's and Young Adult Literature and Criticism: Article Databases

Contact the CMU Libraries

	Ask a Librarian
	Call (989) 774-3114
	Email
	Schedule a Consultation

Find An Article

Intended to include links to selected Article databases relevant to the topic area.

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Indexes books, articles, and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature, the electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Indexes published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics
Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database This link opens in a new window
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database provides access to important and relevant information about Pre K-12 media of all types, including reviews from respected publications for those professionals who work with Pre K-12 media. The database also includes information about books, authors, and illustrators around the world.
Children's Literature and Culture This link opens in a new window
Explore a stunning collection of rare books, games, ephemera, and artwork from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries that reveals the socio-cultural history of these times. Showcasing innovative new publishing methods characteristic of the golden age of children’s literature, from mass-produced chapbooks to richly illustrated ‘book-beautifuls’, this resource examines the way in which new concepts were introduced to young readers, encouraging an engagement with the imagination which went on to fundamentally shape established notions of childhood.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides full text, subscription access to current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Literature Criticism Online (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Profiles influential writers via excerpted passages from selected criticism on contemporary authors. Includes resources on Children's Literature.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism This link opens in a new window
A full-text searchable database of articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also treats related persons and fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped literary theory and criticism. Each entry includes a selective primary and secondary bibliography.
Children's Literature Review This link opens in a new window
Profiles authors of children's and young adult literature of all genres and provides selected full-text or excerpted criticism reproduced from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers and scholarly journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A non–profit service that archives over one thousand academic journals and other scholarly content.
WorldCat.org This link opens in a new window
WorldCat lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world for books, music CDs, and videos. If you find something you want, our Documents on Demand office can order it for you.

In order to get the most out of WorldCat.org, please create an account using your cmich.edu email and select Central Michigan University Library as one of your favorites.

Find a Specific Article or Journal

Subject Librarian

Aparna Zambare

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

214 Park Library

(989) 774 6427

Subjects: Biographies, Children's Literature, English Language & Literature, Philosophy, Religion, Theatre & Dance, Women and Gender Studies