Research Guides: ENG 101: Freshman Composition for Dr. Geoffrey Johns: Find Articles

Contact the CMU Libraries

	Ask a Librarian
	Call (989) 774-3114
	Email
	Schedule a Consultation

General/Multidisciplinary Databases

Links to selected general article databases that could be helpful as well.

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This series takes a pro-con approach to today’s social issues and hot topics in politics, business, education, the environment, medicine, and more. It's the perfect resource when you have to take one side of a debate or have to write a persuasive essay.
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
Essays on today’s crucial issues and hot topics in politics, business, education, the environment, medicine, and more. A great resource for overview and persuasive papers and speeches.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database indexes high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other specialized reference resources on a wide range of topics. A great place for topic overviews.

Newspaper Databases

Links to selected newspaper databases relevant to the your course assignment. As you can see, some of them are local newspapers which could be helpful.

Westlaw News This link opens in a new window
Search separately or combined for news in Reuters publications, blogs, magazines, newspapers, transcripts, or wires. Includes U. S. and international publications.
New York Times Online, 1851- present This link opens in a new window
Find breaking news, multimedia, reviews & opinion on Washington, business, sports, movies, travel, books, jobs, education, real estate and more.

ATTENTION: First time users must create an account using the authenticated link provided here. NYT prefers that you use your cmich.edu email address, if possible.

Current users may use this link: https://nytimes.com

Passes expire after 364 days, users will need to go to http://accessnyt.com and type in Central Michigan University and follow the instructions to get another 364 day pass for access.

Using your registered e-mail address, you should be able to login.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The Chronicle of Higher Education is a online resource that presents news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty and student affairs professionals.

Central Michigan Life
Campus Newspaper. Current issues located in the Mary Dow Reading Room by title.

Find a Specific Article or Journal

Subject-specific Databases

Databases by Subject
Follow the links here for a variety of resources useful for research in specific career fields and disciplines.

Links to selected article databases relevant to the field of higher education.

Subject Librarian

Aparna Zambare

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

214 Park Library

(989) 774 6427

Subjects: Biographies, Children's Literature, English Language & Literature, Philosophy, Religion, Theatre & Dance, Women and Gender Studies

Dictionaries and Thesauri

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The OED is widely regarded as the most significant dictionary of the English language, offering the meaning, history, and pronunciation of more than 600,000 words —past and present— from across the English-speaking world.

Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE)
Published by Harvard University Press.
Roget's 21st Century Thesaurus in Dictionary Form