Research Guides: COM 600/MCA 600: Introduction to Research and Graduate Study : Find Articles & More!

Examples of APA Style

Generating Citations

The links below are to citation generators. These are sites that allow you to add information to a form, and then receive a properly formatted citation in the style of your choosing. They work for APA, MLA, and other major citation styles.

NOTE: Be sure to check the references generated by these tools against a style manual or other credible source.

Be sure to check out the Writing Help tab above for more resources related to creating and managing citations!

You can also generate citations for search results in most databases, or by using the FindIt@CMU link or Google Scholar.

Google Scholar

Find An Article

Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
"Resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in any and all aspects of communication and mass media"
Communication Institute for Online Scholarship (CIOS) This link opens in a new window
Indexes the scholarship of the communication field, including Communication Studies, Rhetoric, Journalism, Mass Communication, Speech.
ProQuest Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to content from all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. Includes full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports.
PsycINFO (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Coverage of research in applied psychology, developmental psychology, personality, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. NOTE: In many cases, articles from the last 3-5 years are NOT available due to publisher copyright restrictions.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Sync Scholar to work with CMU's Find It system to access full text articles: https://libguides.cmich.edu/googleresources/googlescholar

Find Dissertations/Theses

Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.