K-12 Teacher’s Resources: Science Resources

Award winning site covering the life and work of Albert Einstein.

Official Site of the NSF Sponsored PBS show. Has lots of great information for students and teachers, along with tons of science experiments that you can do at home.

One section of the website is devoted to resources for educators. It includes information on current volcanic activity, information on volcanoes, terminology, and "fun" activities.

This site includes multiple interactive, downloadable video clips and still images of various cells and living organisms with a particularly useful explanation of the role they play in life cycles.

This website is aimed at children and provides information on marine life, including quizzes on the oceans and sea life.

This site is produced by the creators of the Earth and Sky radio program. It includes ideas for educators on how to incorporate astronomy, earth sciences, ecology, and anthropology into the classroom.

The Earth Science World ImageBank is a service provided by the American Geological Institute (AGI). This ImageBank is designed to provide quality geoscience images to the public, educators, and the geoscience community.

The purpose of this site is to promote the development of education via simulation. The primary focus of this site is space simulations.

This website is a produced by The Environmental Literacy Council. The site provides a fundamental understanding about the systems of the natural world and is a great environmental resource.

This site is prepared by the North American Association for Environmental Education. It includes a section on classroom resources in environmental education.

An organized list of resources on the Internet that science educators, as well as science enthusiasts, may find useful. The resources have been screened for their educational appropriateness.

This website provides explanations of how things work. It is a good science resource for teachers and parents.

This site is maintained by the University of California at Berkeley and contains links to many resources in the earth sciences.

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) is an honorific society of distinguished scholars engaged in scientific and engineering research, dedicated to the furtherance of science and technology and to their use for the general welfare.

This site provides resources for educators on such topics as weather [tornadoes, hurricanes, flash floods, tsunamis], climate [climate change, earth science and sciences as it relates to our planet], oceans and coasts [fish, marine mammals, our coasts, navigation], satellites and space.

This site was provides a tour of the Ocean Planet exhibition at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of Natural History. It includes a set of lessons and marine science activities which adapt several themes of the exhibition for use in the middle and high school classroom.

This is an interactive, engaging website that children can navigate to learn about science through stories about animals, rail, and so on.

Explore inventing at the West Orange Laboratories, the Invention Factory where Thomas Edison and his muckers completed more than half of Edison's 1,093 patents.

The Space Place is maintained by NASA in provide kids and teachers with information on space science. The site includes lesson plans for teachers who want to bring space related activities to their classroom.

This site is a virtual website that allows students to explore Mars.

The Thinking Fountain is an interactive website from the Science Museums of Minnesota, and its A to Z listing of course materials includes activities and children's books.

The EPA has lesson plans and materials for teacher and games and activities for students organized by lower and upper elementary grades.

The USGS has compiled a list of resources for educators. This site includes lesson plans and links to valuable resources in the earth sciences, the life sciences and geography.

Resources on volcanoes, including lessons plans and teacher resources.