K-12 Teacher’s Resources: Social Studies Resources

This digital collection is an assemblage of handwritten letters, songsheets, and military orders. Spanning the entire period of the American Civil War (1861-1865), these items gathered together provide a unique and insightful glimpse into the era.

American Memory is a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States.

The British Broadcasting Corporation's website on history featuring time lines, biographies, games, and printouts from ancient to recent history.

Best of History Web Sites is an award-winning portal that contains annotated links to over 1200 history web sites as well as links to hundreds of quality K-12 history lesson plans, history teacher guides, history activities, history games, history quizzes, and more.

Information on Michigan history and the Northwest Territory.

This website covers American history from the colonial period until Modern Times.

Songs, teacher's guides, lesson plans and other history resources for educators.

Digitized historical resources from around Michigan including photographs of people, places and objects; diaries of Civil War soldiers; unique local histories and much more.

This resource includes background information, election results, cabinet members, notable events, and some points of interest on each of the presidents.

The State Archives of Michigan houses documents dating back to 1792. It includes more than 80 million state and local government records and private papers, 300,000 photographs and 500,000 maps, plus films and audio tapes are available for public research.

"The Benjamin Franklin Tercentenary is a private, non-profit alliance established to mark the three-hundred-year anniversary of Benjamin Franklin’s birth..." This site contains interactive Benjamin Franklin exhibits and educational resources including lesson plans.

This site provides many articles, biographies and video clips as well as a classroom section with study guides, quizzes, and teaching ideas.

The Making of Modern Michigan is a collaborative project involving 52 Michigan libraries. It includes local history materials from communities around the state. Michigan's unique heritage is represented through over 4,500 different subjects of photographs, family papers, oral histories, genealogical materials, and much more.

The National Archives is the UK government's official archive, containing over 1,000 years of history.

A site dedicated to the U.S. flag that contains historical information about the American flag and various patriotic writings, information about flag etiquette, and images of past flags and state flags.

This site identifies government issues that make news headlines.