ENG 349: Perilous Shakespeare: Then and Now: Shakespeare and the Web
This resource guide has been prepared for Dr. Nate Smith's ENG 349, Perilous Shakespeare: Then and Now, by Aparna ZambareURL:https://libguides.cmich.edu/shakespeare
Hamlet on the Ramparts is designed and maintained by the MIT’s Shakespeare Electronic Archive in collaboration with the Folger Shakespeare Library and other institutions. Their aim is to provide free access to an evolving collection of texts, images, and film relevant to Hamlet, especially his first encounter with the Ghost. The main site provides restricted access but Hamlet on the Ramparts is open to public access.
The Electronic Literature Foundation's presentation of the Plays of William Shakespeare. Each play has its own search engine, concordance, quotes, and other information.
Center for Electronic Texts in the Humanities or CETH, a unit of Rutgers University, that maintains a very useful directory of major electronic text centers in the United States as well as a few such centers outside the United States and provides access to their own humanities e-text projects.
This is an excellent resource prepared by Virginia University’s E-Text Center that provides access to the English poetry database, the English verse drama database, English prose drama, early English prose fiction, early American fiction, the American poetry database, and the African American poetry database.
The Humanities Text Initiative, a unit of the University of Michigan's Digital Library Production Service, provides online access to full text resources since 1994. The unit is also responsible for the creation, delivery, and maintenance of electronic texts, as well as a mechanism for furthering the library community’s capabilities in the area of online text.
The Oxford Text Archive, Oxford University, hosts AHDS Literature, Languages and Linguistics. The OTA works closely with members of the Arts and Humanities academic community to collect, catalogue, and preserve high-quality electronic texts for research and teaching.
Created by the National Endowment for the Arts and the Poetry Foundation, Poetry Out Loud is administered in partnership with the State Arts Agencies of all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and Puerto Rico.
The Postcolonial Studies website (PS) is a project in progress at the English Department at Emory University. Its aim is to provide sources on major topics and issues in Postcolonial Studies.
Provides free access to more than 33,000 (primarily older public domain) books which can be downloaded in a variety of formats including ePub, Kindle, HTML and plain text.
Maintained by the University of California, Santa Barbara, Voice of the Shuttle is a site which models the way the humanities are organized for research and teaching as well as the way they are adapting to social, cultural, and technological changes. This is perhaps the most comprehensive database of the humanities resources on the web.
The OED is widely regarded as the most significant dictionary of the English language, offering the meaning, history, and pronunciation of more than 600,000 words —past and present— from across the English-speaking world.
