Research Guides: ENG 201: Special Theme: Pseudoscience and Science: Reference Works

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias (Print)

Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
Call Number: G63 .W67 2001t - Reference Collection 2nd Floor
A Dictionary of Terms and Techniques in Archaeology
Call Number: CC70 .C48 1980b - Reference Collection 2nd Floor
Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology by Charles Spielberger (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780126574104
Publication Date: 2004-09-02
Mass media : a chronological encyclopedia of Television, Radio, Motion Pictures, Magazines, Newspapers, and Books in the United States
Call Number: P92.U5 H77 1987 - Book Collection 4th Floor
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences by William A. Darity, Jr. (editor)
Call Number: H40.A2 I5 2008eb
ISBN: 9780028661179
Publication Date: 2008
This book highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.
Encyclopedia of Earth and Physical Sciences
Call Number: QE5 .E513 - Reference Collection 2nd Floor
Encyclopedia of Human Biology
Call Number: QP11 .E53 1997 - Reference Collection 2nd Floor

The Primary English Encyclopaedia 2nd Edition by Margaret Mallett
Call Number: LB1576 .M355 2008 - Book Collection 2nd Floor
ISBN: 9780415451031
Publication Date: 2007-11-12
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric by Thomas O. Sloane (Editor)
ISBN: 0195125959
Publication Date: 2001-08-02

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Maintained by Stanford University, this dynamic resource includes entries written and updated by distinguished scholars in the field.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
Includes information on numerous medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research, which is now available online.

in Multiple Resources

in Articles - Peer Reviewed

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

214 Park Library

(989) 774 6427

Subjects: Biographies, Children's Literature, English Language & Literature, Philosophy, Religion, Theatre & Dance, Women and Gender Studies

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The OED is widely regarded as the most significant dictionary of the English language, offering the meaning, history, and pronunciation of more than 600,000 words —past and present— from across the English-speaking world.