Research Guides: HST 496/717: Research Seminar--The Vietnam War: Find Articles

The Vietnam War

Chicago Style 16th Edition

These resources are based on the 16th edition (2010) of the Chicago Manual of Style.

Chicago Manual of Style Online
An online version of the Chicago Manual of Style guide. Access is limited to CMU students and staff.
Chicago Manual of Style Quick Guide
Using the Chicago Manual of Style (OWL at Purdue)
Chicago Documentation Style

Turabian 7th Edition

These links will give you information on citing sources according to the 7th edition of A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Kate Turabian.

Find Article Newspaper, Magazine & Journal Articles

There are many online resources relating to the study of media from a historical perspective. This list of resources, while by no means exhaustive, provides a basic starting point for research on the the impact of the media in relation to events in American History.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access of more than 200 history and history-related journals. Remember that in many cases the latest 3-5 years' worth of issues are NOT included due to publisher restrictions.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present
America: History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
"The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history."
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Electronic version of International Index to Periodicals (1907-1955), International Index (1955-1965), Social Sciences and Humanities Index (1965-1974), and Humanities Index (1974-1996). This database should be used in conjunction with Humanities Abstracts in FirstSearch.
New York Times, 1851-2020 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
The Historical New York Times (1851-2007) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. This database offers full-text and full-image articles and deal not only with news, but also includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, as well as historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.
Times Digital Archive 1785-2014 (Gale) This link opens in a new window
"Search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching."
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
General-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America