HST 496/717: Research Seminar--The Vietnam War: Web Resources

An online version of the Chicago Manual of Style guide. Access is limited to CMU students and staff.

The archival search engine of the National Archives that provides online full-text access to important documents dealing with American history and foreign policy.

The Avalon Project is dedicated to providing access via the World Wide Web to primary source materials in the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. Within the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government materials are selected which are of sufficient importance as primary material to be included. Documents are also included because they are referred to in a document which is already part of the Project.

Created by UShistory.org this website includes context and connections to related websites.

The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. Search within the volumes, or browse them by administration

As part of the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, this site includes many online full-text original documents related to the Cold War. Access to these documents is through the Virtual Archive button and the Documents and Papers button.

This site sponsored by the University of Houston presents research through primary sources, an online textbook, extensive reference resources, and interactive materials.

The Wilson Center Digital Archive is a resource where students, researchers and specialists can access once-secret documents from governments and organizations all over the world. Constructed and maintained by the Wilson Center’s History and Public Policy Program, the Digital Archive contains declassified historical materials from archives around the world, including diplomatic cables, high level correspondence, meeting minutes, intelligence estimates, and more. With much of this information available in English translation, the historical documents enrich international scholarship, history education, and public policy debate on important global issues and challenges.

A World-wide resource that covers over two centuries, with links to digitized copies of the original texts for the older publications (where available, Google links to the newspapers' own online archives).

A "gateway to web resources as well as a repository of unique teaching materials, first-person primary documents, and guides to analyzing historical evidence for high school and college students and teachers of American history." Originally developed by the American Social History Project/Center for Media & Learning, City University of New York, and the Center for History and New Media, George Mason University

"The Internet Archive is a non-profit informational entity that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format."

The official website of the Library of Congress. Features many internal sites of historical interest, including American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library, a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The American Memory site offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections.

NATO Archives Online facilitates the online consultation of the publicly disclosed formal documents of the NATO International Staff (IS) and International Military Staff (IMS).

"The Sixties Project began as a collective of humanities scholars working together on the Internet to use electronic resources to provide routes of collaboration and make available primary and secondary sources for researchers, students, teachers, writers and librarians interested in the Sixties. In 1993, the Sixties Project received a Networked Associate Fellowship from the Institute for Advanced Technology in the Humanities (IATH), University of Virginia at Charlottesville."

"The Veterans History Project of the American Folklife Center collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans so that future generations may hear directly from veterans and better understand the realities of war."

"The mission of the Vietnam Center at Texas Tech University is to support and encourage research and education regarding all aspects of the American Vietnam experience; promoting a greater understanding of this experience and the peoples and cultures of Southeast Asia. Its functions are threefold: support for the Vietnam Archive and the collection and preservation of pertinent historical source material; promotion of education through exhibits, classroom instruction, educational programs, and publications; and encouragement of related scholarship through organizing and hosting conferences and symposia, academic, educational, and cultural exchanges, and the publishing of scholarly research. The Vietnam Center seeks to provide a forum for all points of view and for all topics relating to Indochina, particularly - but not limited to - the American military involvement there."

"Vietnam: A Television History was a landmark documentary series produced by WGBH. This collection contains most of the materials gathered and created for the 1983 series, as well as additional Vietnam-related materials from the WGBH archive. Vietnam: A Television History was one of the last WGBH series produced entirely on film. Starting in 2008, materials were reconstructed, transferred, and digitized for preservation and access."

A massive internet resource covering a very wide range of subjects dealing with the Vietnam War, including a large number of primary resource websites hosted by U.S. Government Departments, educational institutions, archives and personal sites.