Data Repositories

An open research data repository is a publicly accessible online platform where researchers can deposit and share their research data, making it freely available for others to access, reuse, and redistribute. 

Registry of Research Data Repositories (re3data) global registry of research data repositories that covers repositories from different academic disciplines. As of 2015, it is a merged listing of re3data and DataBib, managed by DataCite.

         re3data.org FAQ answer questions like "How can I add a research data repository to re3data?"

DataCite a minter of DOIs for datasets, provides valuable metadata on those datasets, including dataset title, DOI, authors, publisher, publication year, and relation to other scholarly works. DataCite members can set up several Repository Accounts that each have their own prefix and login credentials 

DataSeer Using Natural Language Processing (NLP) DataSeer delivers aggregate stats on open access licensing, data and code sharing, repository use, preprint posting, protocol sharing and reuse, personal identifiers, and more. It is not free, but it does offer a free trial and a free version.

DRYAD is an open data publishing platform to partner with institutions, publishers, and academic societies and sponsor data curation, publishing, and preservation for researchers.

FAIRsharing A cross-disciplinary platform that houses manually curated metadata on standards, databases and data policies. It is searchable and provides a list of certified data repositories.

Harvard Dataverse open to all researchers from any discipline, both inside and outside of the Harvard community, free with limitation

OpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories.

Open Access Directory of Data Repositories Maintains lists of open access data repositories for a wide range of subject areas.  

Open Science Framework (OSF)  is a free, open-source platform that supports the open science movement by providing tools for researchers to manage, share, and collaborate on research projects. 

ZENODO EU Open Research Repository, Open repository for EU-funded research outputs from Horizon Europe, Euratom, and earlier Framework Programmes. 

Creative Commons (CC) Provide Creative Commons licenses and public domain tools that give every person and organization in the world a free, simple, and standardized way to grant copyright permissions for creative and academic works.

Mendeley Data includes two types of desitories: Digital Commons Data vs. Mendeley Data. While Digital Commons Data is offered to researchers at subscribing institutions under their institutional (data) repository, Mendeley Data is the Elsevier open generalist data repository to create, share and access FAIR data globally provided free to journal authors and researchers who may not have access to institutional or domain-specific repositories.

Amazon Web Services Public Data Sets Hosts a variety of large public data sets, such as Landsat, census, and genomic data. Creating an account may be required, and charges may apply for computing time and data transfer. AWS Free Tier

Code Ocean a place to manage all data assets in the cloud and from any other source. Use in computational work while tracking lineage, ensuring reproducibility, and reducing duplication.