Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Online Resources
"The Internet Archive is a non-profit informational entity that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format."
MOA: Making of America
Materials accessible in this large collection are Cornell University Library's contributions to Making of America (MOA), a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Provides full-text access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
Provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized American newspaper pages covering the years 1836-1922.
Google News Archive Search
A World-wide resource that covers over two centuries, with links to digitized copies of the original texts for the older publications (where available, Google links to the newspapers' own online archives).
Archival Research Catalog (ARC): U. S. National Archives and Records Administration
The archival search engine of the National Archives that provides online full-text access to important documents dealing with American history and foreign policy.
Best of History Websites: American History
Created by Tom Daccord for students, history educators, and general history enthusiasts. A good and fairly comprehensive listing of major history websites. This section of the website deals with various aspects of American History.
The Civil War: Soldiers and Sailors Database
The Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System (CWSS) is a database containing information about the men who served in the Union and Confederate armies during the Civil War. Other information on the site includes histories of Union and Confederate regiments, links to descriptions of significant battles, and selected lists of prisoner-of-war records and cemetery records, which will be amended over time. The CWSS is a cooperative effort between the National Park Service and several public and private partners whose goal is to increase Americans' understanding of this decisive era in American history by making information about it widely accessible.
Online Genealogical Resources
"FamilySearch, sponsored by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints in Salt Lake City, Utah, is the largest genealogy organization in the world. Millions of people use FamilySearch records, resources, and services to learn more about their family history. For over 100 years, the Mormon church has been actively gathering, preserving, and sharing genealogical records worldwide. This service is open to all."
Allen County Public Library Genealogy Center
"The ACPL Genealogy Center, located in downtown Fort Wayne, Indiana, is a unique and valuable resource for the Northeastern Indiana community and the entire genealogical community at large. This unique collection is one of the largest research collections available in the United States, incorporating records from around the world. The Genealogy Center is active in several initiatives to make significant public domain portions of its collection available online."
Cyndi's List of Genealogical Sites on the Internet
A massive categorized and cross-referenced index to genealogical resources on the Internet, containing nearly 300,000 links in 180 categories.