Skip to Main Content
Recommended Websites
- Child trends Covering wide scope of childhood issues particularly interesting to researchers and policy makers
- Child Welfare by Center for the Study of Social Policy, a national, non-profit policy organization that connects community action, public system reform, and policy change to create a fair and just society in which all children and families thrive.
- Child Welfare Policy Database This website provides state-by-state policy information on a range of child welfare topics.
- Child Welfare Legislation Database This database covers topics related to child welfare, including foster and kinship care, child protection and the prevention of child maltreatment. It includes all enacted legislation from 2012 to the present and is updated weekly as legislation is identified by NCSL staff.
- Child Welfare Policy Manual This manual is broken down into nine main policy areas (with detailed subsections): AFCARS, CAPTA, Independent Living, MEPA/IEAP, Monitoring, SACWIS, Title IV-B, Title IV-E, Tribes/Indian Tribal Organizations.
- Children's Bureau is an agency within the Administration for Children and Families within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
- Major Federal Legislation .gov The acts included in this index provide a framework for understanding the Federal legislation that has shaped the delivery of child welfare services in the United States.
- CLASP- Center for Law and Social Policy analyze existing policies and practices
- National Center for Children in Poverty (NCCP) uses research to identify strong policy options and strategies for effective policy implementation.
- NASW Policy Issue: Child Welfare
- NASW Policy Statements Policy Statement Topic Areas - Public and Professional Policy Statements
- NASW Social Work Policy Research & Data
- Institute for Policy Research policy research on poverty, race, and inequality; child, adolescent, and family studies; community development; law and crime; health care policy, etc.
- Institute for Women's Policy Research The Institute for Women’s Policy Research conducts rigorous research and disseminates its findings.
- National Academy for State Health Policy NASHP provides a forum for constructive work across branches and agencies of state government on critical health issues.
- Policies and Forms Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, current policy manuals. Documents & Forms. Forms and documents relevant to child welfare will be compiled
- Rural Health Policy The Office of Rural Health Policy (ORHP) has department-wide responsibility for analyzing the possible effects of policy on 62 million residents of rural communities.
- Social Work Policy Institute The Social Work Policy Institute examines issues that relate to the work of social workers.
- State Child Welfare Policy Database This easy-to-use website provides state-by-state policy information on a range of child welfare topics.
- Violence Policy Center a national tax-exempt 501(c)(3) non-profit organization based in Washington, DC, works to stop this annual toll of death and injury through research, advocacy, education, and collaboration."
