Research Guides: Geography: Find Books

Print Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Geography by Barney Warf (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412956970
Publication Date: 2010-09-16
Simply stated, geography studies the locations of things and the explanations that underlie spatial distributions. With more than 1,200 entries, the Encyclopedia of Geography reflects how the growth of geography has propelled a demand for intermediaries between the abstract language of academia and the ordinary language of everyday life. The six volumes of this encyclopedia encapsulate a diverse array of topics to offer a comprehensive and useful summary of the state of the discipline in the early 21st century. This encyclopedia strategically reflects the enormous diversity of the discipline, the multiple meanings of space itself, and the diverse views of geographers. It brings together the diversity of geographical knowledge, making it an invaluable resource for any academic library.
Encyclopedia of Geography Terms, Themes, and Concepts by Reuel R. Hanks
ISBN: 9781598842944
Publication Date: 2011-10-17
This text provides an essential reference handbook for students of geography and related social sciences. This handbook offers a broad coverage of terminology and concepts, serving as both an encyclopedic dictionary of geography terms and an approachable overview to the human and physical aspects of world geography. Approximately 150 geographic terms and concepts are defined and discussed, providing an accessible reference for anyone who requires a deeper knowledge of the language and ideas that are important to geography as a discipline. All major geographic concepts and terms are addressed and comprehensively explained using examples. Contains more than 30 illustrations, comprising images, maps, charts and graphs Features sidebars that highlight and explain specific topics or provide biographical sketches of key figures in the history of geographic thought Detailed entries cover the most essential concepts of geography as an academic discipline
Encyclopedia of Rural America by Gary Goreham (Editor)
ISBN: 9781592371150
Publication Date: 2008-07-30
History, sociology, anthropology and public policy combine to deliver the encyclopedia that has become the standard reference work in American rural studies. From irrigation and marriage to games and mental health, this encyclopedia is the most comprehensive resource exploring both the history of rural America, its current issues and perspectives, and visions for its future.
Encyclopedia of world geography by Haggett, Peter.
Publication Date: 2002
v. 1. United States I -- v. 2. United States II -- v. 3. Canada/the Arctic -- v. 4. Central America/the Caribbean -- v. 5. South America -- v. 6. The Nordic Countries -- v. 7. The British Isles -- v. 8. France -- v. 9. Netherlands/Belgium/Luxemourg -- v. 10. Spain/Portugal -- v. 11. Italy/Greece -- v. 12. Germany/Austria/Switzerland -- v. 13. Eastern Europe -- v. 14. Russia/Norhtern Eurasia -- v. 15. The Middle East -- v. 16. North Africa -- v. 17. West Africa/Central Africa/East Africa -- v. 18. Southern Africa -- v. 19. The Indian Subcontinent -- v. 20. China/Taiwan -- v. 21. Southeast Asia -- v. 22. Japan/Korea -- v. 23. Australasia/the Pacific Islands/Antarctica -- v. 24. Index.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by James D. Wright (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 0080970869
Publication Date: 2015-04-02
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fieldsDiscusses history, current trends and future directionsTopics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading

Geology Book Subject Heading

G1-922 Geography (General)
     G65-69 Geographers
     G70-70.6 Philosophy. Relation to other topics. Methodology
     G80-99 History of geography
     G100.5-108.5 Toponymy, Including gazetteers, geographic names and terms
     G140 Great cities of the world
     G141 Historical geography
     G142 Aerial geography
     G149-180 Travel. Voyages and travels (General)
     G154.9-155.8 Travel and state. Tourism
     G200-336 History of discoveries, explorations, and travel
     G369-503 Special voyages and travels
     G521-539 Adventures, shipwrecks, buried treasure, etc.
     G540-550 Seafaring life, ocean travel, etc.
     G575-890 Arctic and Antarctic regions
     G905-910 Tropics (General)
     G912-922 Northern and Southern Hemispheres

G1000-3122 Atlases

    G1000-1000.5 Atlases of the moon, planets, etc.
    G1001-1046 World atlases. Atlases of the Earth
    G1050-1052 Northern and Southern Hemispheres
    G1053 Tropics. Torrid Zone
    G1054-1055 Polar regions. Frigid Zone
    G1059-1061 Maritime atlases (General)
    G1100-3102 By region or country

G3160-3171 Globes

G3180-9980 Maps

GA1-1776 Mathematical geography. Cartography

GB3-5030 Physical geography

GC1-1581 Oceanography

Reference Books - online

Complete Idiot's Guide to Geography by Thomas E. Sherer; Frommer's Staff (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9780028619552
Publication Date: 1997-10-01
Explains geographical terminology, differentiates between physical and geographical geography, and discusses the problems threatening the globe.
Encyclopedia of Human Geography by Barney Warf (Editor)
ISBN: 0761988580
Publication Date: 2006-05-16
With more than 300 entries written by an international team of leading authorities in the field, the Encyclopedia of Human Geography offers a comprehensive overview of the major ideas, concepts, terms, and approaches that characterize a notoriously diverse field. This multidisciplinary volume provides cross-cultural coverage of human geography as it is understood in the contemporary world and takes into account the enormous conceptual changes that have evolved since the 1970s, including a variety of social constructivist approaches.
Worldmark encyclopedia of the nations -- Encyclopedia of the nations by Hobby, Jeneen M., editor.; Gall, Timothy L., editor.
Publication Date: 2007
Presents easy-to-understand on 200 countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders.

Geography: Find Books

Print Reference Books

Geology Book Subject Heading

Reference Books - online

Reference - General Science