HST 496: The American Peace Movement (Dr. Mitch Hall): Web Resources

An online version of the Chicago Manual of Style guide. Access is limited to CMU students and staff.

The archival search engine of the National Archives that provides online full-text access to important documents dealing with American history and foreign policy.

The official website of the Library of Congress. Features many internal sites of historical interest, including American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library, a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The American Memory site offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections.

This online book traces the history of one of the most important forces for peace, the American peace movements of the 20th Century. There have been six mass-based peace movements, each responding to a particular war or threat of war. They developed in response to the Spanish-American and Philippine Wars of 1898-1902, World War I 1914-1918, the rise of European fascism, 1932-1938, the rise of the Cold War 1946-1950, the Vietnam War 1965-1972 and the threat of a first-strike nuclear war from 1980 to 1990. Each of the six peace movements will be described in turn, including their program, the social class relations of the people involved, the problems they encountered, and the extent to which they were successful.

This website is operated by Ted Grimsrud for the purpose of gathering materials he has written on theology, the Bible, pacifism, issues of war and peace, and other ethical themes . He teaches theology and peace studies at Eastern Mennonite University in Harrisonburg, VA.

A massive internet resource covering a very wide range of subjects dealing with the Vietnam War, including a large number of primary resource websites hosted by U.S. Government Departments, educational institutions, archives and personal sites.

Vietnam Veterans Against the War, Inc. (VVAW) is a national veterans' organization that was founded in New York City in 1967 after six Vietnam vets marched together in a peace demonstration. It was organized to voice the growing opposition among returning servicemen and women to the still-raging war in Indochina, and grew rapidly to a membership of over 30,000 throughout the United States as well as active duty GIs stationed in Vietnam. Through ongoing actions and grassroots organization, VVAW exposed the ugly truth about US involvement in Southeast Asia and our first-hand experiences helped many other Americans to see the unjust nature of that war.

"The Veterans History Project of the American Folklife Center collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans so that future generations may hear directly from veterans and better understand the realities of war."

"The Sixties Project began as a collective of humanities scholars working together on the Internet to use electronic resources to provide routes of collaboration and make available primary and secondary sources for researchers, students, teachers, writers and librarians interested in the Sixties. In 1993, the Sixties Project received a Networked Associate Fellowship from the Institute for Advanced Technology in the Humanities (IATH), University of Virginia at Charlottesville."

From the Digital History website.

The International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN) is a global campaign coalition working to mobilize people in all countries to inspire, persuade and pressure their governments to initiate and support negotiations for a treaty banning nuclear weapons.

CND campaigns non-violently to rid the world of nuclear weapons and other weapons of mass destruction and to create genuine security for future generations. CND opposes all nuclear and other weapons of mass destruction: their development, manufacture, testing, deployment and use or threatened use by any country.

A World-wide resource that covers over two centuries, with links to digitized copies of the original texts for the older publications (where available, Google links to the newspapers' own online archives).

Originally created by Tom Daccord for students, history educators, and general history enthusiasts. A good and fairly comprehensive listing of major history websites.

This site sponsored by the University of Houston presents research through primary sources, an online textbook, extensive reference resources, and interactive materials.

A "gateway to web resources as well as a repository of unique teaching materials, first-person primary documents, and guides to analyzing historical evidence for high school and college students and teachers of American history." Originally developed by the American Social History Project/Center for Media & Learning, City University of New York, and the Center for History and New Media, George Mason University

"The Internet Archive is a non-profit informational entity that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format."

The Avalon Project is dedicated to providing access via the World Wide Web to primary source materials in the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. Within the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government materials are selected which are of sufficient importance as primary material to be included. Documents are also included because they are referred to in a document which is already part of the Project.