Research Guides: JRN 466: Advertising Campaigns (Dr. Jinhee Lee): Company Information & Profiles

Public, Private, and Not-For-Profit

Use the resources below to find profiles for your company; the resources are separated by public, private, and nonprofit. If you don't know the status of your company, use the search below.

Examples
Publically-traded companies: Wal-Mart, General Electric
Privately-held companies: IKEA, Subway Restaurants
Nonprofit/Not-for-Profit organizations: National Public Radio, Henry Ford Health System

Company Search
Bloomberg Businessweek

Detailed Company Profiles

MergentOnline This link opens in a new window
Covers 10,000 national and international public companies. Includes business profiles, stock & bond information, financial statements, annual reports, SEC filings, competitors and executive/officer information
International Directory of Company Histories (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides histories of prominent companies in a particular industry or geographic location.
Directory Library (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A collection of industry and organizational directories. Includes: Gale directory of publications and broadcast media, Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S., Research centers directory and Statistics Sources.

PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Provides business, financial and revenue data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. Contains information on private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, VC funding, and private equity deal history.
Directory Library (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A collection of industry and organizational directories. Includes: Gale directory of publications and broadcast media, Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S., Research centers directory and Statistics Sources.

GuideStar This link opens in a new window
Includes information on all tax-exempt nonprofits registered with the IRS. There are more than 1.8 million organizations in the database including more than 1 million public charities, approximately 141,000 private foundations, and more than half a million other exempt organizations.

Stock Symbols

If your company is public, look up its stock symbol here. You can use the stock symbol to more easily look up information on your company.

Market Watch Stock Ticker Lookup
The Wall Street Journal
Yahoo! Finance Symbol Lookup
Yahoo! Inc.

Company Websites

Often you can find financial data( including annual reports) online on the company website. However, it's not usually found on the public-facing web page, which is usually intended for sales. Search for your company's website and see if you find a link that says something like Inc., Investors or Investor Relations, Company Information, or Corporate Information; if your company is nonprofit, check for the label About Us. This link is usually somewhere in the footer of the public website (or sometimes in the header or left-side navigation) and will take you to the website for the company's shareholders or donors.