Grey Literature for the Health Sciences: Sources for Grey Literature

The Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED), as well as the HTA Database
*Over 35,000 quality assessed systematic reviews of health and social care interventions
*Summaries of all Cochrane systematic reviews and protocols up to March 2015
*Over 17,000 economic evaluations of health and social care interventions
*Over 15,000 summaries of completed and ongoing health technology assessments.

National Technical Information Service. (NTIS) is an entirely fee-supported agency that promotes U.S. innovation and economic growth by providing information and data services to the public, industry, and other federal agencies. Originally created to serve as the U.S. government’s repository for scientific research and information, it still maintain the world’s most comprehensive collection of U.S.-sponsored research. Search Federal Data Products.

As of December 1, 2020 the OpenGrey Repository was discontinued and preserved as a closed archive in the DANS EASY data archive.
System for information on grey literature in Europe. OpenGrey covers Science, Technology, Biomedical Science, Economics, Social Science and Humanities.

Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
The Basic version of TRIP is free, but the premium version (TRIP Pro) requires an annual subscription.

Established in 1998 as a model, strategy and operating platform for technical cooperation of the Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) for management of health information and knowledge in the Latin American & Caribbean Region.
The VHL is a Network of Networks built collectively and coordinated by BIREME. It is developed, by principle, in a decentralized manner by national instances (Argentina VHL, Brazil VHL etc.) and thematic networks of institutions related to research, education and health services (Nursing VHL, VHL Ministry of Health etc.).

ACTT (Accelerating Change Transformation Team) and the Alberta Medical Association

ACTT no longer develops or updates Clinical Practice Guidelines (CPGs) on single clinical topics. They are transitioning existing CPGs from their website over time, prioritizing those which need to be retired.

Scroll to the bottom of the page for other sources of high-quality Canadian CPGs and other clinical decision support tools.

Search for guidelines, or browse and filter guidelines using a variety of categories, including countries of application, guideline publication status, endorsing organization, and more.

The federally approved clinical practice guidelines for HIV/AIDS are developed by panels of experts in HIV care. More information about the panels can be found in each set of guidelines.

ICSI ended operations as of January 1, 2022.
Some information is still available on their website.

Browse topical health-related guidelines.
NHMRC is an independent statutory agency within the portfolio of the Australian Government Minister for Health and Ageing, operating under the National Health and Medical Research Council Act 1992 (NHMRC Act) on 1 July 2006.

Evidence-based recommendations developed by independent committees, including professionals and lay members, and consulted on by stakeholders.

The development of global guidelines ensuring the appropriate use of evidence represents one of the core functions of WHO.
A WHO guideline is defined broadly as any information product developed by WHO that contains recommendations for clinical practice or public health policy.

U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.

International Standard Randomised Controlled Trial Number. A primary clinical trial registry recognised by WHO and ICMJE that accepts all clinical research studies (whether proposed, ongoing or completed), providing content validation and curation and the unique identification number necessary for publication. All study records in the database are freely accessible and searchable.

The EU Clinical Trials Register contains information on interventional clinical trials on medicines conducted in the European Union (EU), or the European Economic Area (EEA) which started after 1 May 2004.

This site was retired on September 14, 2021.
This is an archived version of the page from Sep 12, 2021.

An international initiative to have all past & present clinical trials registered & their full methods & summary results reported.

A collaboration between Open Knowledge International and Dr Ben Goldacre from the University of Oxford DataLab. It aims to locate, match, and share all publicly accessible data and documents, on all trials conducted, on all medicines and other treatments, globally.

Online database of industry-sponsored global clinical trials actively seeking study volunteers.

Find a GSK (GlaxoSmithKline) Clinical Study

UK-wide service, run by the National Institute for Health and Care Research (NIHR), in collaboration with the devolved administrations in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.
The NIHR and the Be Part of Research service are funded by the Department of Health and Social Care (DHSC).

U.S. Food & Drug Administration (FDA)

The Therapeutics Initiative is part of the Department of Anesthesiology, Pharmacology & Therapeutics at University of British Columbia's (UBC's) Faculty of Medicine.

Select a committee in the left-hand column to see more.

U.S. Food & Drug Administration (FDA)

MedWatch receives reports from the public and when appropriate, publishes safety alerts for FDA-regulated products such as:
*Prescription and over-the-counter medicines
*Biologics such as blood components, blood/plasma derivatives and gene therapies.
*Medical devices such as hearing aids breast pumps, and pacemakers.
*Combination products such as pre-filled drug syringe, metered-dose inhalers and nasal spray.
*Special nutritional products such as dietary supplements, medical foods and infant formulas.
*Cosmetics such as moisturizers, makeup, shampoos, hair dyes and tattoos.
*Food such as beverages and ingredients added to foods.

Open Archives Initiative

OpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories. You can search and browse through thousands of registered repositories based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held.

The Sigma Repository is a free gray literature database provided by Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing.
The Sigma Repository is the only repository solely dedicated to sharing work created by nurses around the world. Nurses at any career stage (student to retired) can submit their materials to the repository to share their knowledge in a global forum.
(formerly the Virginia Henderson Global Nursing e-Repository)

Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP)
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS)
National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report (NHQDR)
Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems (CAHPS®)

AHRQ's Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems (CAHPS) program aims to advance our scientific understanding of patient experience with healthcare.

The Home of the U.S. Government's Open Data

World Health Organization (WHO)

Data Archive of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
The data collections in HMCA primarily includes large-scale surveys of the American public about public health, attitudes towards health reform, and access to medical care; surveys of health care professionals and organizations, public health professionals, and nurses; evaluations of innovative programs for the delivery of health care, and many other topics and populations of interest.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

Health Services Research (HSR) PubMed Queries
NLM Digital Collections: Health Policy and Services Research
Health Care Data Standards
and much more