EndNote Basic: About

This guide provides an overview of how to set up and use a free EndNote Basic account in order to create bibliographies and more. URL: https://libguides.cmich.edu/endnotebasic

Contact the CMU Libraries

 
Ask a Librarian
Call (989) 774-3470
Email
Text (989) 863-4639
Schedule a Consultation

Getting Started

EndNote Basic has five main functions:

EndNote Basic uses a system of folders to store citations. You can create as many folders as needed, move citations between folders, and rename or delete folders. The 5 main features of EndNote Basic are:

  • Storing citations (either those you have imported from databases or manually input yourself)
  • Creating bibliographies
  • Creating in-text references
  • 2GB of online storage for saving articles
  • Group sharing of citations

Getting started

Register for an EndNote Basic account or login to an existing account by clicking here. We recommend you use your cmich.edu e-mail account in order to have access to over 3300 bibliographic format styles, instead of the default of only the top 21 styles.

Citations can be imported into EndNote Basic from most library databases. Be aware that SciVerse and Science Direct do not provide any direct citation exporting capability. However. linking through to the journal websites via the database links allows you to capture the citations via the Capture Reference feature of EndNote Web. Some editing may be required.

There is a high level of integration with Web of Knowledge databases. EndNote Web also automatically shares relevant citations with existing Web of Knowledge personal accounts, primarily between ResearcherID in Web of Knowledge and My Publications in EndNote Basic.  Web of Knowledge integration, however, is only available from when accessing EndNote from within the CMU network.

Central Michigan University Library, 250 East Preston Street, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-1100 | Contact Us

CMU, an AA/EO institution, strongly and actively strives to increase diversity and provide equal opportunity within its community.

Copyright © Central Michigan University, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-4000 | Privacy Policy