EndNote Basic: Exporting Database Citations

This guide provides an overview of how to set up and use a free EndNote Basic account in order to create bibliographies and more. URL: https://libguides.cmich.edu/endnotebasic

Exporting References from Specific Library Databases

Exporting References from Specific Library Databases

CMU Smart Search

  1. Perform a search in the database
  2. Select the reference(s) you wish to export by clicking the box in front of the citation(s)
  3. Click on the ellipses (…) in the upper right corner of the search results (NOTE: If you select the ellipses (...) for an individual citation, only that reference will be downloaded)
  4. Select “EndNote”
  5. Login to EndNote Basic (if needed)
  6.  If the export is successful, you should see a message indicating so (e.g. “Primo Import Results –Number of records imported: 5”
  7. From EndNote Web, move the references to the desired folder.
  8. Exported references should be in the [Unfiled] folder under All My References 

EBSCOHost Databases (CINAHL, SPORTDiscus, etc.)

  1. Perform a search in the database
  2. Select the records you wish to download by clicking the blue folder to the right of each record
  3. Click the Folder option (indicated by a yellow folder icon) in the top navigation bar
  4. Mark the Select/deselect all box
  5. Click Export
  6. Select the “Remove these items from folder after saving” option
  7. Select Direct Export to EndNote Web under Save citations to a file formatted for:
  8. Click Save
  9. Log into EndNote Basic
  10. If the export is successful, you should see a message indicating so (e.g. “EBSCOhost Import Results –Number of records imported: 5”
  11. Access EndNote Basic and exported references should be in the [Unfiled] folder under All My References 

Gale Databases

  1. Perform a search in the database
  2. Select a record from the list of results by clicking the title
  3. Click the Cite icon in the upper navigation bar
  4. Select the citation style (defaults to MLA)
  5. Select Download RIS* to save the RIS file to your computer
  6. Click the citations.ris file
  7. Log into EndNote Basic
  8. If the export is successful, a pop-up box will indicate the number of references exported to my.endnote.com (e.g. “3 references exported to my.endnote.com)
  9. Access EndNote Basic and exported references should be in the [Unfiled] folder under All My References 

Google Scholar

Follow the instructions for configuring Scholar to save references in a format EndNote Basic can import.

JSTOR

  1. Perform a search in the database
  2. Select the reference(s) you wish to export by clicking in the box in front of the citation(s)
  3. From the Export Selected Citations button, select Export a RIS file to save the RIS file to your computer
  4. Click the citations.ris file
  5. Log into EndNote Basic
  6. If the export is successful, a pop-up box will indicate the number of references exported to my.endnote.com (e.g. “3 references exported to my.endnote.com)
  7. Access EndNote Basic and exported references should be in the [Unfiled] folder under All My References 

Ovid

  1. Perform a search in the database
  2. Select the reference(s) you wish to export by clicking on the box in front of the citation(s)
  3. Click Export from the top navigation bar
  4. Select RIS from the Format pull-down menu
  5. Optional: Select additional fields to be included in the citation
  6. Click Export to save the RIS file to your computer
  7. Click the ris.ris file
  8. Log into EndNote Basic
  9. If the export is successful, a pop-up box will indicate the number of references exported to my.endnote.com (e.g. “3 references exported to my.endnote.com)
  10. Access EndNote Basic and exported references should be in the [Unfiled] folder under All My References 

ProQuest Databases (ABI/INFORM, PsycINFO, etc.)

  1. Perform a search in the database
  2. Select the reference(s) you wish to export by clicking on the box in front of the citation(s)
  3. Click the All save options icon (the three periods or ellipses) on the right 
  4. From the pop-up window, select the RIS (Endnote, Citavi, etc.) icon under Citation Export
  5. From the pop-up window, select the “Deselect items when done” option
  6. Click “continue” to save the RIS file to your computer
  7. Click the citation-export file.ris
  8. Log into EndNote Basic
  9. If the export is successful, a pop-up box will indicate the number of references exported to my.endnote.com (e.g. “3 references exported to my.endnote.com)
  10. Access EndNote Basic and exported references should be in the [Unfiled] folder under All My References 

PubMed

  1. Perform a search in the database
  2. Select the reference(s) you wish to export by clicking on the box in front of the citation(s)
  3. Click “Send to”
  4. Select “Citation manager”
  5. Click on “Create File” to save the RIS file to your computer
  6. Click the citation-export file.ris
  7. Log into EndNote Basic
  8. If the export is successful, a pop-up box will indicate the number of references exported to my.endnote.com (e.g. “3 references exported to my.endnote.com)
  9. Access EndNote Basic and exported references should be in the [Unfiled] folder under All My References 

Web of Science

  1. Perform a search in the database
  2. Select the reference(s) you wish to export by clicking on the box in front of the citation(s)
  3. Click the Export button and select EndNote online
  4. Login to your EndNote Basic account, if prompted
  5. Confirm your export options from the pop-up window and select Export
  6. Citations will be directly exported to your EndNote Basic account
  7. Citations successfully exported to your EndNote Basic account will be indicated in the list of search results with . Click the icon to view the citatioon in your EndNote Basic account.

Clarke Historical Library, 250 East Preston Street, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-1100 | Contact Us

CMU, an AA/EO institution, strongly and actively strives to increase diversity and provide equal opportunity within its community.


Copyright © Central Michigan University, Mount Pleasant, MI 48859 | (989) 774-4000 | Privacy Policy