Research Guides: Fashion Merchandising and Design: Images

Chat with Us!

Contact the CMU Libraries

	Ask a Librarian
	Call (989) 774-3114
	Email
	Schedule a Consultation

Images

Whether you are looking for historic fashion photos, fashion illustrations, or free images to use in a presentation or creative project, check out the links below for hundreds of free photo resources!

Image Collections

ARTstor Digital Library (now referred to as JSTOR Images) This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 1.8 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences, along with accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. The database includes contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Contains the entire Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion as well as an e-book collection, articles, images, and other reference sources on fashion around the world and throughout history.

Adobe Stock Images
As a part of your Adobe Creative Campus account you have access to thousands of free Adobe Stock images.
Make sure you are logged into your CMU Adobe account, and then change the photo search dropdown to 'Free'.
Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum
A 21st-century museum housed in New York City's landmark Carnegie Mansion, Cooper Hewitt offers four floors of galleries dedicated to all disciplines of design, a permanent collection of more than 210,000 design objects fully digitized and available online, and a world-class design library.
Drexel Digital Museum Project
The Drexel Digital Museum Project (DDM) is an international, interdisciplinary group of researchers focused on production, conservation and dissemination of new media for exhibition of historic fashion.
Fashion Plate Collection
From University of Washington Libraries Digital Collections, many of these plates are from some of the leading French, British, American, and other continental fashion journals of the 19th century and early 20th century
firstVIEW
A premier archive for runway images in the fashion world, providing countless publications and websites with the fashion images they need. Online since 1995.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Over 800,000 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections. New materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
Wayne State University Digital Dress Collection
The Digital Dress Collection contains images of clothing worn in Michigan during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Arts, Media, and Design Librarian

Katie Edmiston

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Park Library 218

989-774-3835

Subjects: Art, Communication, Fashion Merchandising & Design, Interior Design, Journalism, Media Arts, Music