Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Contact the CMU Libraries
Welcome to the library guide for IND 238WI - Design History and Precedent. This guide will get you started finding sources and useful library resources for your final research assignment. If you need more help locating sources, chat with a librarian or schedule a one-on-one appointment with me.
Most students don't have time to read an entire book for their assignment. However, individual book chapters can hold great information you could use for your research paper, and take the same amount of time it takes to read an article.
When you click on a book title, you can usually find a list of chapters. Take a look to see if there are one or more chapters that would be helpful for your research!
Search for Books On Your Topic Using:
Smart Search This link opens in a new window
Smart Search allows you to search millions of items simultaneously, including journal articles, books, streaming media, CMU Libraries Digital Collections, and legal, governmental, and archival materials.
Ebook Academic Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary e-books representing a broad range of academic subjects. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that students and scholars will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A cross-searchable, multidisciplinary database of electronic books featuring publications from major academic publishers. New titles are added regularly.
Find Articles & More
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database indexes high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more.
Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Source is the largest full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. With strong international coverage, it offers hundreds of full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts and thousands of images.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Sync Scholar to work with CMU's Find It system to access full text articles: https://libguides.cmich.edu/googleresources/googlescholar
Films on Demand (Full Collection) This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos from Films for the Humanities and Sciences, ABC News, NBC News, BBC, National Geographic, The NewsHour with Jim Lehrer, Bill Moyers, Shopware, The Open University, A&E, Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center, Fred Friendly Seminars, Cambridge Education, and many more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. NOTE: In many cases, articles from the last 3-5 years are NOT available due to publisher copyright restrictions.
ProQuest Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central provides access to databases across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports all together on a powerful, user-friendly platform.
Arts, Media & Design Librarian