The ABSITE Review (7e) by
Written in a high-yield, memory-prompting outline format, Dr. Steven Fiser's The ABSITE Review, 7th Edition, covers every topic on the American Board of Surgery In-Training Examination, now thoroughly updated for today's residents. This concise handbook offers a rapid review of essential surgery information with sufficient explanation to build knowledge and confidence as you prepare for this critically important exam. Covers every topic on the ABSITE, from basic science to clinical knowledge in general surgery and surgical subspecialties Facilitates quick study and memorization with a streamlined outline and list format, full-color illustrations, tables, and algorithms Highlights must-know information in bold throughout the text Reflects the current ABSITE exam and can be used independently of other study materials Also useful for certification or recertification with a proven format that allows you to spend more time studying important facts and less time searching for them Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Atlas of Robotic General Surgery by
Atlas of Robotic General Surgery is a state-of-the-art reference in the rapidly changing field of robotic general surgery. It presents a comprehensive overview of current options across the entire spectrum of general surgery, with contributions by key opinion leaders in their respective fields. This unique text-atlas describes the latest trends and detailed technical modifications from the routine to the most complex procedures, highlighted by step-by-step, vividly illustrated instructions, intraoperative color photographs, and a unique narrated video collection. Atlas of Robotic General Surgery is an invaluable resource to residents, fellows, and practicing surgeons to help them successfully implement and apply robotics in their training and/or everyday practice. Provides detailed instruction on robotic procedures of the abdominal wall, foregut, bariatric, hepatobilliary, colorectal, and endocrine surgeries, for a unique, all-in-one surgical resource. Offers vividly illustrated guidance on all current robotic procedures through step-by-step instructions, intraoperative color photographs, and expertly edited, narrated video clips. Highlights the common technical pitfalls of each procedure as well as prevention and management of common perioperative complications. Features expert contributions from key foregut, bariatric, oncologic, hepatobiliary, and colorectal surgeons. Includes up-to-date coverage of the appropriate pathways for mastering robotics, practice optimization, and programmatic viability, as well as resident training curricula. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Core Topics in General and Emergency Surgery (6e) by
Core Topics in General and Emergency Surgery meets the needs of surgeons in higher training and practising consultants for a contemporary and evidence-based account of general surgery in both elective and emergency situations. It is a practical reference source incorporating the most current information on recent developments, management issues and operative procedures. The text is thoroughly referenced and supported by evidence-based recommendations wherever possible, distinguishing between strong evidence to support a conclusion, and evidence suggesting that a recommendation can be reached on the balance of probabilities. For this Sixth Edition the authorship team across the series has been expanded to include additional European and World experts, with an increased emphasis on global practice. Throughout all six volumes the contents have been extensively revised in line with recently published evidence. Detailed supportive key references are provided and are also included within the comprehensive list of references in the accompanying ebook. Links to recommended online videos have been added where appropriate. The Companion to Specialist Surgical Practice series provides a current and concise summary of the key topics within the major sub-specialties of general surgery. Each volume highlights evidence-based practice both in the text and within the extensive list of references at the end of every chapter. The extensive revisions to this edition of Core Topics in General and Emergency Surgery are intended to maximize its appeal to all those in general surgical practice. There are several entirely new chapters on subjects previously covered in other volumes of the series, while the remaining chapters have been revised, updated or re-written by new authors where appropriate. The new chapters include those on the Evaluation of surgical literature; Enhanced recovery; Organ donation and general surgery in transplant patients; and Principles of neck surgery for the general surgeon. For the first time this volume includes a chapter on Patient safety and human factors in surgery, which distills the core knowledge that is fundamental to achieving good outcomes (and avoiding bad ones) in practice for all grades of surgeon.
Current Diagnosis and Treatment Surgery (15e) by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Evidence-based, point-of-care information on the full scope of diseases and disorders most often treated by surgeons * Expansive coverage of general surgery and all subspecialties you need to be versed in, including otolaryngology, plastic and reconstructive surgery, gynecology, orthopedics, urology, oncology, organ transplantation, and pediatric surgery * Intuitively organized to help you find answers quickly and easily * More than 600 photographs and illustrations * Detailed treatment algorithms * Concise overview of core topics in the general surgery curriculum * Hundreds of chapter-ending multiple-choice review questions * Updated throughout with the latest research and discoveries
Current Surgical Therapy (14e) by
An essential resource for written, oral, and recertifying board study, as well as an excellent reference for everyday clinical practice, Current Surgical Therapy, 14th Edition, provides trusted, authoritative advice on today's best treatment and management options for general surgery. Residents and practitioners alike appreciate the concise, highly formatted approach to each topic, as well as the practical, hands-on advice on selecting and implementing current surgical approaches from today's preeminent general surgeons. This highly regarded text remains the only surgical reference of its kind, offering a complete array of topics and delivering just the key facts. Covers virtually every problem that a general surgeon may encounter, synthesizing vast amounts of information into concise, digestible chapters. Provides thoroughly updated information throughout, including focused revisions to the most in-demand topics. Presents each topic using the same easy-to-follow format: disease presentation, pathophysiology, diagnostics, and surgical therapy. Includes eight all-new surgical videos covering enteral stents in the treatment of colonic obstruction; multiple management approaches to spigelian, obturator, and lumbar hernias; spontaneous and secondary pneumothorax, and acute mesenteric ischemia. Features more than 2,000 illustrations-line drawings, graphs, algorithms, clinical/operative photographs, micrographs, and radiological images-including hundreds new to this edition. Integrates minimally invasive surgical techniques, basic science, and critical care aspects of surgical practice throughout. Discusses which approach to take, how to avoid or minimize complications, and what outcomes to expect. Provides a quick, efficient review prior to surgery and when preparing for surgical boards and ABSITEs. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Mulholland and Greenfield's Surgery (7e) by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Newly streamlined and focused on quick-access, easy-to-digest content, Mulholland and Greenfield's Surgery: Scientific Principles & Practice, 7th Edition, remains an invaluable resource for today's residents and practicing surgeons. This gold standard text balances scientific advances with clinical practice, reflecting rapid changes, new technologies, and innovative techniques in today's surgical care. New lead editor Dr. Justin Dimick and a team of expert editors and contributing authors bring a fresh perspective and vision to this classic reference. Presents the science that underpins the practice of surgery alongside practical clinical content. Features newly streamlined and condensed information with a clear, concise focus, as well as additional tables, procedural summaries of key steps, and pearls and pitfalls throughout. Covers general scientific principles such as inflammation, shock, nutrition, pain management, and much more, followed by surgical practice chapters arranged by organ system. Contains 2,100 full-color illustrations, anatomic drawings, and intraoperative photographs that visually support the text and make complex concepts easier to grasp. Chapters begin with Key Points and decision-making algorithms are listed in the front of the book for quick reference. eBook version features over 40 "Morbidity and Mortality" case discussions and an Interactive Question Bank with nearly 900 questions.
On Call Surgery (4e) by
Ideal for any on-call professional, resident, or medical student, this best-selling reference by Drs. Gregg A. Adams, Stephen D. Bresnick, Jared Forrester, and Graeme Rosenberg covers the common problems you'll encounter while on call without direct supervision in the hospital. On Call Surgery, 4th Edition, fits perfectly in your pocket, ready to provide key information in time-sensitive, challenging situations. You'll gain speed, skill, and knowledge with every call - from diagnosing a difficult or life-threatening situation to prescribing the right medication. Highlights medications, doses, and critical information in a second color for fast reference. Features a logical, highly templated format so you can locate key information quickly. Delivers consistent, easy-to-follow coverage of the most common on-call problems and approaches, including what to do from the initial phone call, questions you should ask to assess the urgency of each situation, "Elevator Thoughts," how to immediately identify major threats to life, what to do at the bedside, and how to avoid common mistakes for every call. Provides updated content and references, as well as an up-to-date drug formulary, keeping you on the cutting edge of current, evidence-based information. NEW! Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Operative Techniques in Surgery (2e) by
With an emphasis on the "how and why" of contemporary surgery, Operative Techniques in Surgery, Second Edition, features concise, bulleted text, full-color illustrations, and intraoperative photographs to clarify exactly what to look for and how to proceed. Meticulously edited by Drs. Mary T. Hawn, Aurora D. Pryor, Steven J. Hughes, Michael S. Sabel, Kellie R. Brown and Amy J. Goldberg, this comprehensive, two-volume surgical atlas focuses on the steps of each technique, rapidly directing you to the information you need to choose the right approach for each patient, perform it successfully, and achieve the best possible results. Coverage includes open as well as laparoscopic, robotic, endoscopic, and endovascular procedures in gastrointestinal, thoracic, esophageal, colorectal, hepatobiliary, breast, endocrine, dermatologic, vascular, and trauma surgery New, comprehensive section on trauma surgery, helmed by trauma expert Dr. Amy J. Goldberg New section editors for esophageal and foregut surgery and vascular surgery, Dr. Aurora D. Pryor minimally invasive surgery leader and Kellie R. Brown, expert in vascular surgery. New videos, personally selected by contributing authors and editors, accompany numerous chapters throughout the book Extensive updates throughout, including new coverage of the American Board of Surgery's SCORE Curricula for General Surgery and for Complex General Surgical Oncology Each procedure follows the same format: differential diagnosis, patient history and physical findings, imaging and other diagnostic studies, surgical management, techniques, pearls and pitfalls, postoperative care, outcomes, and complications Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Sabiston Textbook of Surgery (21e) by
For more than 80 years, Sabiston Textbook of Surgery: The Biological Basis of Modern Surgical Practice has been the go-to text for trainees and surgeons at all levels of experience for definitive guidance on every aspect of general surgery. As the oldest continuously published textbook of surgery in North America, this fully revised 21st Edition continues to provide the key information, essential teaching pearls, and completely updated content needed to make the most informed surgical decisions and achieve optimal outcomes for patients. Concisely written and evidence based throughout, it covers the breadth of material required for certification and practice of general surgery, highlighted by detailed, full-color intraoperative illustrations and high-quality video clips. Follows a clear, consistent progression beginning with principles common to surgical specialties including fluid and electrolyte management, metabolic support, and wound healing. Subsequent sections review the management of injury, transplantation, oncology, breast, endocrine, and abdominal procedures. Covers key topics such as emerging surgical technologies and devices, regenerative medicine, the latest concepts in cancer biology and treatments, and evidence-based management and treatment. Emphasizes the most up-to-date minimally invasive techniques and the use of robotics when indicated. Features more than 2,000 superb illustrations and intraoperative photographs and 25 procedural videos that facilitate quick comprehension of surgical techniques. Includes more schematic diagrams, summary tables, boxes, and algorithms that provide a rich resource for reviewing surgical techniques and preparing for in-training and board exams. Shares the expertise of dozens of new authors and includes two new chapters on robotic surgery and fetal surgery. Contains fully updated content on topics encountered by general surgery residents in training as well as in-depth coverage of subspecialty areas including head and neck, thoracic, vascular, urology, neurosurgery, pediatrics, and gynecology. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
SCHWARTZ's PRINCIPLES of SURGERY (11e) by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The BEST EDITION yet of the #1 text for surgical practice and education For half-a-century, no other text has provided such a solid grounding in basic science, anatomy, operative techniques, and more recently, professional development and leadership training, as Schwartz's Principles of Surgery. Written by the world's foremost surgeons, this landmark reference offers distinctly modern and all-encompassing coverage of every important topic in general surgery. Enhanced by a new two volume presentation, the Eleventh Edition has been completely updated and refreshed with an emphasis on state-of-the-art, evidence-based surgical care. You will find an exciting array of new contributors from around the world, new chapters on cutting-edge topics, plus the acclaimed learning aids that make the material easier to understand and memorize. This outstanding content is bolstered by more than 800 photographs and 1,300 line drawings, most in full color, as well as online videos demonstrating key operations. Here's why the Eleventh Edition is the best edition yet: Six timely new chapters on important topics such as enhanced recovery after surgery (ERAS), ambulatory/outpatient surgery, evidence for surgery practice, skills and simulation, and web-based education and social media High-quality full-color design showcases an unsurpassed illustration program Emphasis on high-yield discussion of diagnosis and treatment of surgical disease, arranged by organ system and surgical specialty Acclaimed learning aids (many new to this edition), including an abundance of completely up-to-date tables that summarize the most current evidence, boxed key points, detailed anatomical figures, diagnostic and management algorithms, and an abundance of completely up-to-date tables, and key references More than the field's cornerstone textbook, Schwartz's Principles of Surgery is an international compendium of the knowledge and technique of the world's leading surgeons.
Surgical Decision Making (6e) by
Using a proven, practical, algorithmic approach, Surgical Decision Making summarizes evidence-based guidelines and practice protocols in an easy-to-follow format. Designed to sharpen the decision-making skills of both trainees and practicing surgeons, the 6th Edition directs your focus to the critical decision points in a wide range of clinical scenarios, helping you determine optimal evaluation and management to secure the best possible patient outcomes. Algorithms are accompanied by annotations that explain all critical factors affecting decisions in a concise, readable manner. Reflects the scope of practice of today's general surgeon, with fresh, expert perspectives from new editor Dr. Richard Schulick and numerous new contributors. Contains 58 new chapters and thoroughly revised content throughout. Includes new coverage of Preoperative Evaluation of the Geriatric Patient, Pancreatic Cystic Neoplasm, Familial Breast Cancer, Resuscitative Endovascular Balloon Occlusion of the Aorta, Blunt Cerebrovascular Injury, and much more. Uses an easy-to-follow, consistent format, with an algorithm on one page and short descriptions explaining the various steps in the decision-making process on the opposite page. Includes explanatory notes that summarize presenting signs and symptoms, laboratory investigation, diagnostic modalities, surgical therapies, and adjuvant therapies for each condition. Encompasses both general surgery and surgical subspecialties?helping you directly manage a broad range of problems. Emphasizes information that frequently appears on board exams. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call: 989.746.7577
cmedlibrary@cmich.edu