Research Guides: Newspapers: Current Newspapers

Chat with Us!

Contact the CMU Libraries

	Ask a Librarian
	Call (989) 774-3114
	Email
	Schedule a Consultation

A-Z List

A-Z List
Alphabetical list of all online CMU newspaper databases

Current Newspapers

Individual Papers:

CM Life
Central Michigan University's student voice since 1919.

Detroit Free Press - Current (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Lansing State Journal - Current (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window

Morning Sun (Print)
Mount Pleasant, MI news, sports, weather and more. Print newspapers are located at the north end of the 2nd floor, in the area near the Library Services Desk. The library retains the most recent two months of print newspapers. For in-library use only.

New York Times Online, 1851- present This link opens in a new window
Find breaking news, multimedia, reviews & opinion on Washington, business, sports, movies, travel, books, jobs, education, real estate and more.

Tribal Observer (Print)
Run by the Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe of Michigan. Print newspapers are located at the north end of the 2nd floor, in the area near the Library Services Desk. The library retains the most recent two months of print newspapers. For in-library use only.

Wall Street Journal (WSJ.com) This link opens in a new window
Breaking news and current headlines from the US and around the world.

Washington Post
Breaking news and analysis on politics, business, world national news, entertainment, and more.

Databases:

Alt-PressWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses.
Canadian Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides users with unmatched access to current Canadian news content with archives as far back as the 1970s, from over 400 news sources. Newspapers, including The Globe and Mail and Toronto Star, along with newswires, websites, and broadcast transcripts are included in full-text format. Extensive backfiles are available for most news sources, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials, and features published in each.
Global Breaking Newswires (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
An aggregated full-text news database with very timely access to the best newswire content available globally. Updated three times per day, it is a continually-growing archive of news content that may not be captured via traditional print sources or online sources.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
International Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
provides the most contemporary news content from outside of the U.S. and Canada with archives that stretch back decades. The comprehensive collection features newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites in full-text format. Over 1,300 of the world's top news sources such as The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, The Wall Street Journal, The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald, The Times of India, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications are included in the collection.

Online Newspaper Directory for the World
Links to online newspaper websites from around the world.

Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Newswires (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's Newswires provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis. This content is monitored by EBSCO and relevant results are provided when users enter searches in EBSCOhost. This collection includes AP Financial News, AP Top News, AP WorldStream, AP U.S. Politics & Government, AP 50 State Reports, UPI Security Industry, UPI Emerging Threats, UPI Business, UPI Entertainment, UPI Sports, UPI Top News, Arabia 2000, and more. End users can immediately access the full text of the web content, by following the link in the record. The index to the full text content in EBSCO Newswires is held for a rolling 30-day archive by EBSCO, so users can enjoy the previous 30 days of news relating to their search interests.
ProQuest Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central contains thousands of newspaper titles and articles, including local and regional papers and international.
Regional Business News (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.
U.S. Major Dailies - Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The titles offer researchers thorough and timely coverage of local, regional, and world events with journalistic balance and perspective. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.
U.S. Midwest Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Enables users to search the most recent regional news content, as well as archives which stretch back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. Midwest Newsstream covers news sources from Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, and Wisconsin.

Compliments the U.S. Midwest Collection newspaper part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, U.S. Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. U.S. Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.
Westlaw News This link opens in a new window
Search separately or combined for news in Reuters publications, blogs, magazines, newspapers, transcripts, or wires. Includes U. S. and international publications.

Create An Account

Did you know you can set up a free personal subscription to the Chronicle of Higher Education, New York Times, and Wall Street Journal with your CMU credentials? Follow the instructions below to set up an account.

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The Chronicle of Higher Education is a online resource that presents news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty and student affairs professionals. Use your CMU Global ID and password to log in.
New York Times Online, 1851- present This link opens in a new window
Find breaking news, multimedia, reviews & opinion on Washington, business, sports, movies, travel, books, jobs, education, real estate and more.

ATTENTION: First time users must create an account using the authenticated link provided here. NYT prefers that you use your cmich.edu email address, if possible. Passes expire after 364 days, users will need to go to http://accessnyt.com and type in Central Michigan University and follow the instructions to get another 364 day pass for access.

Current users may use this link: https://nytimes.com
Wall Street Journal (WSJ.com) This link opens in a new window
Breaking news and current headlines from the US and around the world.

ATTENTION: First time users must create an account using the authenticated link provided here. WSJ requires that you use your cmich.edu email address.

Once you create the account you may use https://www.wsj.com