Research Guides: Newspapers: Historical Newspapers

Chat with Us!

Contact the CMU Libraries

	Ask a Librarian
	Call (989) 774-3114
	Email
	Schedule a Consultation

A-Z List

A-Z List
Alphabetical list of all online CMU newspaper databases

Historical Newspapers

Individual Papers:

CM Life Archives
Central Michigan University's student voice since 1919. View digitized copies of CM Life from 1941-2022.

Detroit Free Press, 1831-1999 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Lansing State Journal, 1980-2011 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Michigan Chronicle, 1939-2010 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
The Michigan Chronicle was founded in 1936 by John Sengstacke, the owner of the Chicago Defender and has continued to be a leading voice for Blacks in Detroit and beyond. It’s longtime editor, Longworth Quinn became a leader in Detroit’s African American community, business and church groups in the 1940’s solidifying the Chronicle’s position in the community.
New York Times, 1851-2020 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Search the complete text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2017 for PDF images of original articles which include photographs and drawings
Times Digital Archive 1785-2014 (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This digital archive of The London Times covers the years 1785-2014.

Databases:

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Offers more than 200 significant 18th and 19th-century newspapers, with a focus on the period between 1820 and 1860.
American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1940 This link opens in a new window
Consists of digitized reproductions of more than 1,100 eighteenth and nineteenth century newspapers and periodicals in the original microfilm reproduction series, including 118 periodicals published during the Civil War.
American Prison Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Over 450 prison newspapers have been published from U.S. prisons. Some, like the Angolite and the San Quentin News, are still being published today. American Prison Newspapers brings together hundreds of periodicals from across the country into one collection that represents penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions.
Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
Provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized American newspaper pages covering the years 1836-1922.
Digital Michigan Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Over 20,000 issues of historical newspapers from throughout Michigan that recorded history as it happened. This database has been created and is maintained by the CMU Libraries.
Early American Newspapers (1690-1875) This link opens in a new window
A web-based archive of Americana that provides a glimpse into our nation's past. It features the images and full-text content from scores of historical publications, complementing the Early American Imprints series.
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Access to America's Historical Imprints and America's Historical Newspapers

Newspaper Navigator
Search historic newspaper photos from 1900-1963.

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages (over 28 million articles) of primary source newspaper content from the 19th-century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
Seventeenth-Eighteenth Century Burney Collection newspapers (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). More than twelve hundred titles and almost one million pages are included.
U. S. Midwest Collection (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
This collection of historical newspapers provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of this region
Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals (1800-1900) This link opens in a new window
A subject-inclusive, language-inclusive bibliography of 50,000 publications, 48,000 personal names, 4,572 issuing bodies and 756 subjects.

Clarke Historical Library

CMU's Clarke Historical Library, located in the same building as Park Library, works to collect and preserve history. They have been actively preserving Michigan newspapers for the last 50 years, and in the last decade have converted thousands of newspapers to be accessible online through the Digital Michigan Newspapers database.

For more information about their historical newspaper resources, contact them here.