Sociology Assessment Resources: Collection

This site provides easy access to a broad collection of sociology assessment resources. Many faculty and department leaders do not have the time or experience with assessment to independently create effective assessment tools. Looking at models from other departments can provide a starting point for assessment development and spark creativity. It can also create the opportunity to compare programs and policies across institutions.

Dr. Mary Senter, Sociology Faculty, proposed this website and reviews the content.  The site was developed by Rui Wang, Social Sciences Librarian, at Central Michigan University.

Arapahoe Community College 2015-2016 Sociology Assessment Plan Data

Auburn University Department of Sociology Anthropology, and Social Work: Assessment of Student Learning Outcomes

Biola University: Assessment B.A. in Sociology

Central Washington University: Assessment of Student Learning Department and Program Report

Chicago State University: Assessment Sociology

Edinboro University: Sociology Students Learning Outcomes Assessment, 2013-2014

Elizabeth City State University: Sociology Assessment Goals, Objectives, and Measurements

Framingham State University: Sociology Department Five year Assessment Plan

Indiana University East B.S.in Sociology  Assessment

Indiana University Kokomo: Sociology Assessment Report Summaries

Learning Outcomes and Assessment, Washington State University Department of Sociology

Macalester College Sociology Department Department Assessment Plan, Updated 2013

Marymount University Student Learning Assessment Report

Millikin University: Assessment Report for Student Learning In the Sociology Major 2010 - 2011 Academic Year

Missouri Western State University: Sociology Assessment Plan

Northeastern University Department of Sociology & Anthropology: Learning Outcomes

Ohio University: Sociology & Anthropology Student Learning Outcomes Assessment

Penn State Harrisburg: Assessment

Portland Community College SOCIOLOGY PROGRAM ASSESSMENT END-OF-YEAR REPORT2015-2016

Sacramento State: Sociology Department Assessment Plan

Sait Louis University Program Assessment Plan Sociology

Skyline college Annual Program Planning Self-Study Sociology 2014

South Puget Sound Community College Sociology Program Assessment Plan 2011-2015

State University of New York, Buffalo State Sociology Assessment Plan

State University of New York, Potsdam Student Learning Outcomes Assessment Report

Trinity Washington University: Sociology Program Assessment Final Report 2015-2016

University of Alaska Fairbanks: Student Learning Outcomes Assessment Plan B.A. Sociology

University of Iowa Graduate Program Strategic Assessment, Sociology

University of Nevada, Reno: Sociology B.A. Assessment Plan

University of North Carolina Wilmington: Using the Capstone Course for Assessment of Learning in the Sociology Major

University of North Dakota: learning goals/objectives and assessment plan

University of St. Thomas Sociology BA Student Learning Outcomes

University of the Virgin Islands: Assessment Minor in Sociology

University of Wyoming: Learning Outcomes Sociology

Utah State University Department of Sociology, Social work, and Anthropology: Assessment

Washington Sate University Department of Sociology: Learning Outcomes and Assessment

Assessment Tools for Sociology Collections and Services in Academic Libraries

• Level 1 ACRL/ANSS Assessment Tools for Sociology Collections and Services in Academic Libraries (2010)
  For institutions that offer only courses in sociology and not a minor or major.
• Level 2 ACRL/ANSS Assessment Tools for Sociology Collections and Services in Academic Libraries (2010)
  For institutions that offer an undergraduate minor or major in sociology.
• Level 3 ACRL/ANSS Assessment Tools for Sociology Collections and Services in Academic Libraries (2010)
  For Institutions that offer graduate level (MA or PhD) instruction in sociology.
• Level 4 ACRL/ANSS Assessment Tools for Sociology Collections and Services in Academic Libraries (2010)
  For Institutions where the library defines itself as maintaining a comprehensive collection in sociology
• TriCollege Libraries Sociology Department Four-Year Library-Skills Rubric-Draft

• The Sociology Major in the Changing Landscapeof Higher Education: Curriculum, Careers, and Online Learning." Washington, DC: American Sociological Association, 2017. http://www.asanet.org/sites/default/files/asa-booklet-2017.pdf. ASA’s most recent recommendations for sociology at the BA level.

• Ferguson, Susan. "Measuring College Learning in Sociology," In Improving Quality in American Higher Education: Learning Outcomes and Assessments for the 21st Century. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass, 2016. http://highered.ssrc.org/wp-content/uploads/MCL-in-Sociology.pdf. (Assessment p.168-182)

• ASA's Department Leaders' Toolbox (2006-2016). Accessed January 24, 2018. http://www.asanet.org/teaching-learning/department-leaders/department-leaders-toolbox.

• ETS Major Field Test (MFT) for Sociology (2012). Accessed January 24, 2018. https://www.ets.org/mft/about/content/sociology. Consists of 140 multiple-choice questions. Most of the questions require knowledge of specific sociological information.

• National Institute for Learning Outcomes Assessment (2012). Accessed January 24, 2018. http://www.learningoutcomeassessment.org/. An information-rich resource for planning and implementing campus assessment processes and activities.

• Roberta Spalter-Roth, Roberta and Scelza, Janene, What's Happening in Your Department with Assessment. Washington DC: American Sociological Association, 2009. http://www.asanet.org/sites/default/files/
  savvy/images/research/docs/pdf/ASAdeptsvybrief3.pdf.

• Creating an Effective Assessment Plan for the Sociology Major. Washington, DC: American Sociological Association, 2005.http://www.asanet.org/sites/default/files/savvy/documents/teaching/pdfs/
  Assessment_Final_Copy_2005.pdfSociology and General Education. A series of 6 recommendations on various ways sociology can continue to impact general education learning requirements. (Assessment p.35-43).

• McKinney, Kathleen, Carla B. Howery, Kerry J. Strand, Edward L. Kain, and Catherine White Berheide. "Liberal Learning and the Sociology Major Updated: Meeting the Challenge of Teaching Sociology in the Twenty-First Century." New York: The American Sociological Association. ASA Task Force on the Undergraduate Major, 2004. http://www.asanet.org/sites/default/files/savvy/images/asa/docs/pdf/Liberal%20Learning%20and%20Sociology%20Major%20(Smaller).pdf.

• Hohm, Charles F., and William S. Johnson. Assessing student learning in sociology. Washington, D.C.: American Sociological Association, 2001. https://www.worldcat.org/title/assessing-student-learning-in-sociology/oclc/50697497&referer=brief_results.

• Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education. Illinois, Chicago: Association of College & Research Libraries, 2016. http://www.ala.org/acrl/standards/ilframework.

• ACRL Information Literacy Standards for Anthropology and Sociology Students. Illoris, Chicago: Anthropology and Sociology Section of Association of College & Research Libraries, 2008. http://www.ala.org/acrl/standards/anthro_soc_standards.  Goals and measurable outcomes for promoting information literacy through curriculum (it will be replaced by Sociology Information Literacy soon)