Research Guides: Music Education: Find Books/Online Reference

Online Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

African American Music Reference This link opens in a new window
Includes biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, discographies, and more. Offers comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of African American musical expression.

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians
Covers all musical genres, with new entries written by a distinguished group of area specialists as well as the original articles by Nicolas Slonimsky.
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Popular Musicians Since 1990
An A-Z biographical reference that focuses on individual artists and groups in all popular styles active from 1990 to the present, including those in rock, rhythm and blues, rap, country, electronica, jazz, vocal and classical. Features include select discographies, bibliographies, a glossary of musical terms, and other information. Also features appendix essays on various topics including the music industry, rap, and grunge.

Music Online Garland Encyclopedia of World Music This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples including 1,208 essays and images from 10 sources and hundreds of audio examples
IPA Source: IPA transcriptions and literal translations of songs and arias This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IPA Source contains International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. The goal of IPA Source is to promote the comprehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts in art song and opera in order that the singer may imbue each syllable with the appropriate emotional content. Translations into English from multiple languages.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Entries and essays from specialist dictionaries such as Grove Music Online, the Oxford Companion to Music, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Encyclopedia of Popular Music.

Selected Research Guides

A Guide to Research in Music Education by Roger P. Phelps; Ronald H. Sadoff; Edward C. Warburton; Lawrence Ferrara; Maskit Jonathan (Contribution by)
Call Number: MT1 .P5 2005
ISBN: 0810852403
Publication Date: 2004-11-20
Exploring Research in Music Education and Music Therapy by Kenneth H. Phillips
Call Number: MT1 .P5116 2008
ISBN: 9780195338300
Publication Date: 2007-11-01
Inquiry in Music Education by Hildegard Froehlich; Carol Frierson-Campbell
Call Number: Electronic
ISBN: 9780415896405
Publication Date: 2012-08-25
MENC Handbook of Research Methodologies by Richard Colwell; Music Educators National Conference (U.S.) Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Electronic
ISBN: 0195189450
Publication Date: 2006-02-23
Research Methodologies in Music Education by Ann Kay Hartwig
Call Number: Electronic
ISBN: 9781443854160
Publication Date: 2014-02-15

Browse the Shelves- Classification Numbers

M - Scores

M 1375-1420 - Instrumental music for children

M 1990-1998 - Secular vocal music for children

M 2190-2196 - Sacred vocal music for children

ML - Music Literature

ML 83 - Children and music

ML 3830-3840 - Psychology of music

ML 3928-3930 - Literature for children

MT - Instruction and Study

MT 1 - General works

MT 5.5-7 - Music theory, rudiments

MT 9-15 - Printed pedagogical aids

MT 9 - Examinations, exercises, etc.

MT 10 - Teachers' and supervisors' manuals, etc.

MT 15 - Charts, diagrams, etc.

MT 17 - Music in special education

MT 20-34 - Systems and methods

MT 22 - Jacques-Dalcroze

MT 32 - Kodaly

MT 85 - Conducting. Score reading and playing

Mt 88 - Administration and instruction of vocal groups

MT 155 - Music theory for children

MT 165 - Tuning

MT 170-810 - Instrumental techniques

MT 740-810 - Instrumental techniques for children

MT 820-915 - Singing and vocal technique

MT 898-915 - Vocal techniques for children

MT 918-948 - School music

MT 920-925 - Kindergarten

MT 930-948 - Elementary schools. Junior high schools. High schools

Contact the CMU Libraries

	Ask a Librarian
	Call (989) 774-3114
	Email
	Schedule a Consultation

Selected Subject Headings

This list is intended to be a starting point for recognizing patterns in related subject headings used when searching.

Children's Collection

The Park Library has a collection of books for children and young adults, located on the north end of the fourth floor. These books can be used for lesson plans and other educational needs.