Most grad students use theory to guide or frame their research, (less on "to make theoretical contributions"). To understand what is a scientific theory, theoretical contributions, and configurations between data, methods, and theory in the filed of I-O psychology will grad students to identify a scientific theory that fits and guides specific research, not "tangentially related research."
1. The disciplinary nature:
3. What is theoretical contributions?
APA Handbook of Industrial and Organizational Psychology, Vol 1: Building and developing the organization. by
The APA Handbook of Industrial and Organizational Psychology is the first offering in an exciting and extensive new reference series covering core and emerging subdiscplines, the APA Handbooks in Psychology'. I/O Psychology is both a science/practice and an applied/basic research discipline. Appropriately, the APA Handbook of Industrial and Organizational Psychology offers an in-depth examination of the types of behavioral and structural issues that I/O psychologists study every day, from both a theoretical and applied perspective. It explores a natural progression, from how problems are diagnosed to how research is conducted to generate answers to those problems to how interventions are implemented and, finally, to how they are evaluated. It examines what is currently known--including basic historical reviews--and identifies the most pertinent sources of information in both the core and emerging literatures. It pinpoints practical issues, probes unresolved and controversial topics, and looks at future theoretical, research, and practice trends. One of the givens in the field is that, when an organization or employer attempts to affect one aspect of behavior--for example, job satisfaction--the organization or employer is likely to affect several other areas, such as compensation, supervision, performance review, and the like. Accordingly, through extensive cross-referencing to other chapters, individual chapters attempt to acknowledge the links with other topics in order to present an integrated approach to the field, both within and across volumes. The reader will thus achieve a clearer understanding of the complexities of each topic, and, more globally, a clearer understanding of the complexities of organizations and of the people within them. The volume titles indicate a particular sequence that informs content: issues concerned with designing, building, and developing the structure of the organization (Volume 1) flow naturally into issues related to selecting the organization's members (Volume 2). Once the organization is established and has members with roles, issues that pertain to maintaining and ensuring the viability of the organization are taken up--including those concerned with growing, expanding, and, even, contracting the organization. The goal of the entire set is to provide the reader with a well-rounded understanding of the complexities and intricacies of trying to study and affect behavior within and between organizations. 3-Volume Set: Volume 1. Building the Organization; Volume 2. Selecting Members for the Organization ; Volume 3. Maintaining, Expanding, and Contracting the Organization.
APA Handbook of Industrial and Organizational Psychology, Vol 2: Selecting and developing members for the organization. by
The purpose of this handbook is to present the types of issues that industrial and organizational psychologists study, the questions they pursue, and the interventions they implement. We hope that the approach of this handbook, as detailed in the remainder of this introduction, presents a more elaborate rationale for the need for another handbook. Volume 2 is titled Selecting and Developing Members for the Organization. This volume addresses issues that come into play when the organization’s design and plans have been completed and implemented and it becomes necessary to staff the organization. How will members be selected for the organization, and what issues must one consider as these members become part of it? Part I provides the foundations of selection and development. Part II focuses on specific selection strategies and issues that address particular means for selecting members of the organization. Part III is concerned with evaluating individuals and performance, particularly with specific emphasis on job-related criteria as determined from the work analysis. Part IV examines issues pertaining to evaluating systems, which is concerned with how well the organization does with respect to its hiring system and processes in general. Part V focuses on developing members. (PsycINFO Database Record (c) 2019 APA, all rights reserved)
APA Handbook of Industrial and Organizational Psychology, Vol 3: Maintaining, expanding, and contracting the organization. by
This volume addresses issues that become prominent after the organization and jobs are designed and after there is an understanding of who will be in the organization and how they will be trained, evaluated, and rewarded. The topics in this volume need to be understood—and in some cases fostered and in other cases controlled or eliminated—if the organization and its employees are to have the opportunity to be effective and succeed. Part I focuses on issues related to relationships with work. Part II moves from a primary concern with the individual employee to more of an organizational perspective and presents chapters dealing with fostering a positive environment and relationships to and at work. Part III draws attention to the issues that organizations need to address to be sustainable. Part IV presents chapters that focus on planning for change and the future. Finally, Part V brings the societal context interface into play. (PsycInfo Database Record (c) 2020 APA, all rights reserved)
The Oxford Handbook of Organizational Psychology, Volume 1 by
Organizational psychology is the science of psychology applied to work and organizations. It is a field of inquiry that spans more than a century and covers an increasingly diverse range of topics as the nature of work continues to evolve.The Oxford Handbook of Organizational Psychology provides a comprehensive treatment of key topics that capture the broad sweep of organizational psychology. It features contributions by 69 leading scholars who provide cutting-edge reviews, conceptual integration, and directions for future research.The 42 chapters of the handbook are organized into 10 major sections spanning two volumes, including such topics imperative to the field as:* the core processes of work motivation, job attitudes and affect, and performance that underlie behavior at work* phenomena that assimilate, shape, and develop employees (i.e. socialization, networks, and leadership)* the challenges of managing differences within and across organizations, covering the topics of diversity, discrimination, and cross-cultural psychology* the powerful influence of technology on the nature of work and work processesThis landmark two-volume set rigorously compiles knowledge in organizational psychology to date and looks ahead with a roadmap for the future of the field.
The Oxford Handbook of Organizational Psychology, Volume 2 by
Organizational psychology is the science of psychology applied to work and organizations. It is a field of inquiry that spans more than a century and covers an increasingly diverse range of topics as the nature of work continues to evolve.The Oxford Handbook of Organizational Psychology provides a comprehensive treatment of key topics that capture the broad sweep of organizational psychology. It features contributions by 69 leading scholars who provide cutting-edge reviews, conceptual integration, and directions for future research.The 42 chapters of the handbook are organized into 10 major sections spanning two volumes, including such topics imperative to the field as:* the core processes of work motivation, job attitudes and affect, and performance that underlie behavior at work* phenomena that assimilate, shape, and develop employees (i.e. socialization, networks, and leadership)* the challenges of managing differences within and across organizations, covering the topics of diversity, discrimination, and cross-cultural psychology* the powerful influence of technology on the nature of work and work processesThis landmark two-volume set rigorously compiles knowledge in organizational psychology to date and looks ahead with a roadmap for the future of the field.